We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very consistent BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's Country Store and Bar-B-Q

Rudy's Country Store and Bar-B-Q
4930 South Loop 289, # 300, Lubbock, TX 79414
806-797-1777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 469 Restaurants in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Just north of San Antonio, at the edge of the Texas Hill Country, sits the small community of Leon Springs. Founded in the 1800s by Max Aue, Leon Spring's cityscape changed when Max's son, Rudolph, opened a one-stop gas station, garage, and grocery store. Bar-B-Q was added to the operation in 1989, and Rudy's "Country Store" and Bar-B-Q has been serving up tasty food ever since. The same original recipes that built Rudy's Leon Springs' reputation are now available throughout the Southwest. Our pits are 100% wood fired with oak, a slower burning wood than the mesquite used by others. Along with time and oak, we cook with a dry spice that ensures each plate of Rudy's Bar-B-Q is perfectly ready for you. Apply some of our famous "Sause" and dinner is served.
lubbock tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“very consistent BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I get the sliced brisket, lean, with rub for the full flavor experience. Not the best I have had but there are not any better alternatives in Lubbock I have found. Still looking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    40
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended on the street by several local people. They were correct, this place was great. I had turkey, ribs and some brisket, all were really good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfort, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Not like the original in the Texas Hill Country, but only because it is a new built building with old town feel. Pretty good job in trying to create the "original" atmosphere. BBQ is good but not the best I have tasted. However for Lubbock it is the best. Decent gas prices (outside) also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Safe bet for bbq in Lubbock but”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

not sure I would say it is great bbq. It is just good bbq. Price seems a bit high to me on most things. Best deal is to buy it by the lb or 1/2 lb. I gave it 3 stars but would probably give it an additonal 1/2 star. 3.5 stars.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lubbock tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good brisket”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I like the brisket and it is consistent but not always what you ordered. I always order lean with rub and sometimes I get to much fat. The cobbler is good.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Country Store and Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Country Store and Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudy's Country Store and Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.