We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice evening and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Nickel Steak House

Double Nickel Steak House
5405 Slide Rd, Lubbock, TX 79414-3727
806-792-0055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Double Nickel Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 502 Restaurants in Lubbock
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 50th
Texas USA
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Very nice evening and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Double Nickel is an upscale nicer steakhouse with great choices on the menu. A complete wine list to complement your dinner topped off by great and attentive service.
We had an excellent meal and a great evening and will be back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    32
    14
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolfforth, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Visited this establishment on the evening of Friday, September 28th. Called to make sure they were even open due to the fact there were absolutely no outdoor lights on. The place looked closed! Was seated immediately without reservations. Server started off good, but somewhere we lost him? He took our beverage orders, simple water with lemon and iced tea. COULD NOT get his attention for refills. Another server (female) came and refilled our drinks when she saw us repeatedly try to get his attention but to no avail. Crab cakes as appetizer turned out to be be ONE crab cake with lettuce and diced tomato on the side? Both ordered the ribeye with creamstyle corn. The creamcorn tasted like it came from a can. Before leaving the table, the server had a flashlight and demanded that we cut into our steaks to make sure they were as we ordered them? I tried to "saw" into mine while he stood over me and he even commented that "the steak must be pretty tough?" Obviously, when it took several attempts to slice in to it!! Both steaks were cooked as ordered, med well and medium; however, for the price I would have hoped for a much more tender steak. I don't know? Maybe I was HOPING that the Double Nickel would have been comparable to Del Friscos in Dallas and Fort Worth? Where LITERALLY you can take your fork and slice into the steak? From all the advertising on television and their website it SOUNDED like you could get a good, tender and great tasting steak? However, we spent $100 on two steaks that we couldn't even chew and didn't even bother trying to take home to the dogs! I don't recommend this place at all. If you are in Lubbock, definitely try Texas Land and Cattle, Logans, Bryans, even Texas Roadhouse for a much more tender and better tasting steak for A LOT less! Plus the service is better at any of these places compared to the Double Nickel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“GREAT steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great steaks! Smaller steakhouse with very nice atmosphere and excellent wait staff. Suggest making reservations to ensure that you are able to be served.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Gave you a 2nd chance ???”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

once again I feel sorry for what is going on there .No more 2nd chance actually (4th).
This time was a bad all over,expansion looks good but ???wish you the best of luck on this this.
6 couples and no one was happy ,filet returned twice .Very expensive $155/couple ,4 drinks one wine bottle at $11 ???Woowwwwwwww. Place was Depressing,Dark,empty at 730PM on a Thursday ,even new manager .????Best of Luck

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great food and classy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great steak and wonder wine! This was the restaurant had great service, thank you Harrison!
The food was very good and the various wines tasked great. The presentation of food was top-notch. Eat here if you are near the Lubbock, TX area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Nickel Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Double Nickel Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Nickel Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.