We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love going here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Ranching Heritage Center

National Ranching Heritage Center
3121 Fourth Street, Box 43200, Lubbock, TX 79409-3200
806 742 0498
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Lubbock
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Cultural
Attraction details
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We love going here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a great place to visit when in Lubbock, TX. There are houses from different decades that are very interesting to see! The best time to go is during the Christmas open house, so much fun. It is held during the evening and there are people in period dress in each house. A must see!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    24
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful center.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I lived in Lubbock for 16 years and of all the attractions this was my favorite. It really shows how tough it must have been growing up in the west in those days.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Historical Family Outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great place for a family to spend an afternoon learning about the history of ranching in the area. Great displays and wonderful special events held throughout the year. This is truly an outing that will make learning fun. We visited with our 5 year old grandson and he had a great time and was full of questions about the way our ancestors lived.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very interesting view of ranch life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This museum is a hands on exhibit of many prairie and old west ranch homes. These are real homes that have been moved onto the property and you can walk through the outdoor exhibit and see all types. I particularly liked the old dug out. I can't imagine living underground like that!

Very nice for children and adults.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great museum displaying life in the wild-west.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

There are some 20 houses showing how settlers used to live in Texas back then. That was very interesting, you could enter some houses. Indoors there was a huge rifle/colt exhibition but I am not so much into guns. The only attraction in Lubbock which maybe more interesting to some is the windmill museum. Haven't been to the stars and stripes cinema yet..

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Ranching Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to National Ranching Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Ranching Heritage Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.