We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap drinks, good Live music, so-so service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Texas Cafe and Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Texas Cafe and Bar
3604 50th St, Lubbock, TX 79413-3912
806-792-8544
Improve this listing
Ranked #237 of 469 Restaurants in Lubbock
Cuisines: Pizza, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cheap drinks, good Live music, so-so service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

That being said, Im pretty sure the reason service wasn't so great is because it was a Monday night and they seemed to only have one server scheduled....... But the place was PACKED! There was an awesome live band playing, there was a drink special (frozen cherry mix made w everclear, sold cheap and by the pitcher), and the place was hoppin!
When we first got there, we were greated and given menus quickly, and chose to sit in the back near the pool tables, an area that only had about 6 people in it. We waited a good 15 minutes, watching the lone server buzz around the floor, serving drinks, food and clearing tables. My guy finally got tired of this and approached the bar. As he started talking to the bartender, of corse, the server approaches him and takes a drink order. We get the special (cherry everclear drink) and loved it. When we finished that (about 2 glasses each) we flagged her down and waited for another pitcher, this time of beer, and waited another 20mins for it. While the games of pool and awesome music were fun, being thirsty the whole time was not.
We had a good enough time, we would deffinatley try this place again, as the atmosphere, drinks and ability to smoke indoors and live music are things we like Bout bars. Hopefully though, there will be atleast 2 servers!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    4
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“New Owners, Better Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

In past years I didn't frequent The Spoon as a general rule because it just wasn't comfortable to me. New owners have taken over and have made positive changes to the interior...gone are the horrid little booth/tables replaced by a tall top long table and nice stools, the bad bench seating along the west wall-gone, replaced by individual tall top tables, much more convenient. The bathrooms have been cleaned up, no more nasty graffiti-big plus. The food has improved and the music offerings have been expanded to seven nights a week...lots of local talent but also some traveling bands appear regularly. On Fridays a pizza/bbq buffet is offered at noon with live music, a reminder of times in the past at another facility. If you haven't dropped by in awhile, go by, meet the new staff/owners and enjoy yourself.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
732 helpful votes 732 helpful votes
“This is a bar”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Its loud, its smoky and if you want to go to a bar and eat, then this is what you get. If you want to go to a rocking bar, drink, eat bar food, hang out with biker gangs, then this is the place for you. They get good local bands and pack the place full. The smoke is terrible there, you can play pool, drink, get drunk, but its not a great place to go and eat - unless you like bar food.....

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Delicious old-fashioned frito pies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This little bar, also known as The Spoon, has been around for more than 25 years. Known for its blue margaritas, it has been a hangout for local bands too. With a small stage, bar tables, and pool tables, you would not think this little place has such a good kitchen. But it does. Not known to all is a great old-fashioned frito pie, not made with chili, but with chopped brisket and queso. And oh is it good. If you ever have a hunger for a great frito pie, try this one out. Just ask for the frito pie, the old fashioned way and they will know what you mean.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
1 review
“Georges Downtown”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

I use to eat there about 3 times a week, the quality of there food has gone down big time. The service isnt very fast and when you get your food you never know if the food will be burnt or half cooked.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Cafe and Bar also viewed

 

Been to Texas Cafe and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Texas Cafe and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.