We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cast Iron Grill

Cast Iron Grill
620 19th Street, SW corner of I 27 and 19th, Lubbock, TX 79401
806-771-7690
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 501 Restaurants in Lubbock
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Diner, Dessert, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Cast Iron Grill is a quaint little restaurant nestled in downtown Lubbock. Our menu is filled with country cookin’ specialties that are made from scratch. Our desserts are homemade every morning. Come Join us For Breakfast or Lunch Monday-Friday 6am-2pm TIP: Order Dessert First
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I ordered the chicken strip platter and wow it was salty, my husband ordered the chicken fried steak it was salty aswell, the mash potatoes were instant, would I go back probably not, unless I try the breakfast.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    15
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nicest people serving great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is where you go to sit and relax and see the real people of Lubbock . This is like the home town atmosphere you got back when owners were there and made sure you had a good experience . With the wait staff and food. It's not a chain restaurant so you get personal service.
People look you in the eye and not at the floor when they talk to you.
This is a home cookin place. I like it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Food and Very Friendly Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Lunch was reasonably priced and the portions were large and very, very good. We sat at the bar and at least 5 or 6 staff members asked if everything was OK as they passed by while we dined. The manager took time to introduce herself and tell us about the history of the grill. We'll definitely be recommending this restaurant to any Lubbock bound friends. Open only for Breakfast and Lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't leave without dessert!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Met a friend for lunch and we had their famous chicken fried steak and gravy, which did not disappoint!!! For dessert, we had warm peach cobbler (served in a little mason jar) with a dollop of vanilla ice cream, which was to die for!!!! The service could not have been better!! For good home cooking, you just can't go wrong with this place!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

The food was great. Comfort food and a lively atmosphere. The service was very good. It was packed but we didn't have to wait for anything. The owner Teresa really seemed to care for her staff too. Can't wait to go back and try breakfast. Our lunch was wonderful.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cast Iron Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cast Iron Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cast Iron Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.