We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't leave without dessert!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cast Iron Grill

Cast Iron Grill
620 19th Street, SW corner of I 27 and 19th, Lubbock, TX 79401
806-771-7690
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 501 Restaurants in Lubbock
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: American, Diner, Dessert, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Cast Iron Grill is a quaint little restaurant nestled in downtown Lubbock. Our menu is filled with country cookin’ specialties that are made from scratch. Our desserts are homemade every morning. Come Join us For Breakfast or Lunch Monday-Friday 6am-2pm TIP: Order Dessert First
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't leave without dessert!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Met a friend for lunch and we had their famous chicken fried steak and gravy, which did not disappoint!!! For dessert, we had warm peach cobbler (served in a little mason jar) with a dollop of vanilla ice cream, which was to die for!!!! The service could not have been better!! For good home cooking, you just can't go wrong with this place!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    15
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great home cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

The food was great. Comfort food and a lively atmosphere. The service was very good. It was packed but we didn't have to wait for anything. The owner Teresa really seemed to care for her staff too. Can't wait to go back and try breakfast. Our lunch was wonderful.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Home cooked meal served right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

One of my favorite places to take visitors to the Lubbock area is CIG. Southern comfort food served by West Texas women with love and care. Always packed at the lunch hour, we came in after the rush and had timely service and left completely satisfied. Sticking to the favorite chicken fried steak you can never go wrong

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Other than the manager asking us to move after we had already been seated we had a great experience! I found it rude that we were asked to move (party of 10) to a different table only for the previous table to be occupied by 10 more quests of a different party. Not sure why we couldn't sit there. However, our food came out quickly and our waitress was prompt!! Food was delicious!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good Ol' County Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I said good morning 9 times before I got to my table, that's how warm friendly this diner is. Being from outta town that's always a huge plus being welcome. Service is quick; although, it's a week day and not more than 5 tables occupied, they had it together. I had a simple breakfast of perfect over medium eggs, sausage, crispy hash browns and biscuits and gravy. Breakfast of champions cooked and served by champions. Cast Iron Grill has my vote for good ol' country cookin. Please try this place... and it ain't open fer supper neether! :)

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cast Iron Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cast Iron Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cast Iron Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.