We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small place, huge flavor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Thai Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bangkok Thai Restaurant
4624 34th St, Lubbock, TX 79410-2420
806-791-7787
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #314 of 502 Restaurants in Lubbock
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Thai
Good for: Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Small place, huge flavor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I eat at Bangkok at least 3 to 4 times a month. The food is always freshly prepared and excellent quality. My favorites are the beef, chicken or pork noodle soups, the pad thai, the hot and sour soup and the asparagus chicken. The restaurant is small and no-frills, but is always packed at lunch, so get there early. Large portions are served for the meal price charged. I recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for good Thai food while in Lubbock!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Really good authentic Thai food. One of the best beef panangs in town. The bathrooms are a little grungy and dirty. But the food is delicious.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“LOVE the food, HATE the flies!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

so, every time i visit bangkok, i order my absolute favorite, the pad thai (medium, because hot is HOT). i've been to other thai restaurants in town, and this is by far the best place for pad thai. the cream cheese wontons are SO GOOD! the only problem i have with the place is the flies. they have lives plants and an aquarium, which i blame for the ridiculous number of flies. other than that, a great place for thai with a very friendly staff. you get a lot of food for the price!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“incredible food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We've been here before and we'll be back again. This is our favorite for thai food in Lubbock.
The servings are enormous, the flavor is delicious, the price is low!!!

If you want it HOT, be sure to ask for it to be "thai hot".

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Thai in Lubbock...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Hands down - the best Thai food in Lubbock.
Bangkok can hold its own against Thai restaurants I've eaten at in Southern California, Denver, San Fran.
Very fresh ingredients, generous portions, the menu offers plenty to come back for time and time again.
Plus, the owner Tako is a great guy.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.