We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blah” 3 of 5 stars
Review of River Smith's Chicken & Catfish Restaurant

River Smith's Chicken & Catfish Restaurant
406 Avenue Q, Lubbock, TX 79401-2610
+1 806-765-8165
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #186 of 500 Restaurants in Lubbock
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: River Smith's Chicken & Catfish is a family-restaurant serving made-from-scratch Southern specialties! Serving Southern, Cajun favorites, everything is made from scratch at River Smith's. Try our famous chicken and catfish or try our delicious burgers, sandwiches, steaks, and desserts.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Blah”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The food was poorly cooked (probable because it was frozen) and the service was marginal. The place wasn't very clean and we came in for an early lunch. If your looking for a hole in the wall with average food and above average prices, this is your place

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Owner at River Smith's Chicken & Catfish Restaurant, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
A meal with us should consist of a clean environment and delicious food. Sorry to hear we didn't come through with that on your visit some time ago! Our food is always fresh, so it should never taste frozen -- if you had let a manager know we would have gladly made it right for you. As for the cleanliness, we follow all food safety guidelines very strictly, so to hear this is really surprising. We're confident that if you come by again, everything will be in top shape. Hope you'll give us another shot to prove to you that we're better than what you experienced!

All the best,
Paul and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    7
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Traveling yesterday and stopped there to eat and ordered chicken breasts basket. Hard to describe how bad it was. The chicken was so greasy is was not fir to eat and was cooked to long and the crust was burned and the french fries were so greasy that were limp with grease. a little side container of gravy? couldn't really tell it had grease standing on top of it and cold. Even the two little rolls were FRIED! The restaurant was filthy. All the toilets were stopped up and overflowing. It was horrible!! We tried to eat a little of the chicken but couldn't eat anything. We left starving and drove to Plainview and had a good meal. I have never made a review on anything, but I just had to on this nasty disgusting place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

The best catfish I've had! The batter and catfish were light and flaky. Lunch rush is pretty hectic, so get there early. Even then, the wait is worth it! Their chicken is also delicious!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Utah
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth stoping for the catfish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

I knew we were in the right place as the first table inside the entrance was occupied by a lone and very large sheriff's deputy. He had what looked liked the 14 piece catfish deluxe basket.

The catfish was light, fresh and very good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas USA
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were disappointed here as there was a big line to place an order and the food didn't support waiting in line.
A lot better places to go in town.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Smith's Chicken & Catfish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to River Smith's Chicken & Catfish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Smith's Chicken & Catfish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.