We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated in my view” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Orlando's

Orlando's
6951 Indiana Ave, Loop 289, Lubbock, TX 79413
+1 806-797-8646
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 510 Restaurants in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Doing business, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Orlando s Italian Restaurant has been serving our "Tex-Italian" (Texas Monthly gave us that moniker) cuisine since opening its original 24th & Ave. Q location in 1965.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overrated in my view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Spaghetti sauce was much too sweet. They must use the same recipe for every sauce as it tasted the same for lasagna, pizza etc. If this is the best in Lubbock, I would go elsewhere for Italian food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    62
    20
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“not what it's cracked up to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Orlando's has gone downhill. Used to be better. When they advertise "a little bit Italian," they're not kidding.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Went there and had the mafia queso as a appetizer. Very good quality food, but was kinda expensive. I got the manicotti and it was pretty good, my dad got the fire breathing dragon pizza and it was delicious. Overall it's really good, but kinda expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Time to refresh the menu and decor. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I've been going to Orlando's (both locations) for many years now. For the large part, I've been satisfied. With all the new restaurants in Lubbock, it has become apparent that a lot of the older, established restaurants are needing to up their game. This is true with Orlando's...from a customer perspective, the current menu has become stale and outdated. I would encourage management to consider new items and, perhaps, consider a facelift at both locations. I've been looking at the same dust on the same decorative(?) wine bottles for the past 10-years.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The food and atmosphere were great! Would go back and love to try to pizza. The Italian margarita's were awesome! Sat by fireplace and it was nice cozy.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orlando's also viewed

 

Been to Orlando's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orlando's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.