We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Triple J Chophouse And Brew Co.

Triple J Chophouse And Brew Co.
1807 Buddy Holly Avenue, Lubbock, TX 79409
806-771-6555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Triple J Chophouse And Brew Co. is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 469 Restaurants in Lubbock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 19th St.
Transit: Citibus stop - intersection of 19th & Buddy Holly Ave.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

After reading online reviews I was expecting a really good meal. The steaks were over cooked and not to our specifications, bread wasn't brought out as stated on the menu. The chicken fried steak was really good and we really enjoyed the green chili corn. Service was slow but the beer was cold. Overall, probably wouldn't go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    79
    29
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Texas
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Again a nice meal with family & friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

As a final stop on an extended road trip we stopped in Lubbock to see our grandson there and take him to dinner. He chose the Triple J. Two of his housemates joined us. Even on a Thursday night, we had to wait a short while since we did not have reservations. We just went to their bar and each had a different one of their delicious brews. We only waited maybe 20 minutes. Their pints were only $3.75 each - a real deal. My wife had a chicken breast with cheese and peppers on top and steamed veggies as a side. She really like it. I had the 6-oz filet and creamed corn with chili peppers as a side. Both were delicious. Our grandson had the 14-oz sirloin and baked potato. With his salad it was more than even he could eat and he took a "to-go" box for the last part plus some of my wife's chicken. One housemate only had a salad and the other also had the sirloin and baked potato. All the food and brews were great. We'll go there again I'm sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere and Great Brews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a nice, casual restaurant in the depot district. Their beers are very tasty! The food is good with generous portions, this is a fun place. Plan to come back if I am ever in Lubbock, again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I visited Triple J with my sister and her husband on a Friday night before attending a concert. The atmosphere is very much brew club - noisy, fun, crowded. Our waitress was outstanding - attentive, pleasant, efficient. The steaks were perfectly cooked and the potatoes very good. Salad was average but the dressing made up for it. Bread was fresh and tasty. Prices were reasonable. We had to drive around a bit to get parking, but it wasn't really a problem. I'd recommend this place for a fun evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere and enjoyable food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have eaten here several times and really enjoyed the atmosphere, beer and the food. The green chili strips and mushrooms are delicious. We also have enjoyed the hamburgers, steaks and pizzas. We even hosted our daughter's graduation dinner here and we will be back for our next graduate. The atmosphere is very Texas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Triple J Chophouse And Brew Co. also viewed

 

Been to Triple J Chophouse And Brew Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triple J Chophouse And Brew Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.