We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Order the Chicken Fried Steak” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Butcher Shop

Butcher Shop
102 Lehigh St, Longview, TX 75601-4956
903-758-6066
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 185 Restaurants in Longview
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers
Restaurant details
Dallas area
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Do Not Order the Chicken Fried Steak”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is my first negative review. We are a senior couple from the Ft. Worth/Dallas area that enjoy judging "chicken fried steaks" on all our travels. The Butcher Shop came highly recommended. We were both very disappointed.

I was not put off by the self- service, Styrofoam plate, plastic forks, and the paper towel napkins - but my wife was. I WAS put off by the first bite of my chicken fried steak. The meat was okay and the quantity was good, but the batter was mediocre and the steak had been fried in stale oil. The gravy was terrible. Overall, the steak was one of the worst I’ve eaten. Since it is a self serve operation, its hard to criticize the service, but when we asked for a “to go” box, we were told they were not allowed to give us a large size so they gave us two small boxes. I would recommend the Cotton Patch just up the street if you want a chicken fried steak in Longview.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    46
    19
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hallsville, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Burger in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is by far the best hamburger in town. The cooks will prepare your burger to your taste and while you wait, you can take advantage of the best chili with all the trimmings. Gloved hands take special care to see that your beef burger and perfectly toasted buns are ready in a timely manner. The atmosphere is busy and great with 1950s and 1960s music playing in the background. It's a great price for a superb hamburger with all the trimmings and as much as you wish. One caveat is that the chili is not available on Monday. Fun and food is this place. For sure, you will leave stuffed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good burgers, even better bakery!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This burger place has been around forever and is still going strong. Really good burgers and other sandwiches plus a large bar with all the fixings including pinto beans and chili. Their homemade hamburger buns are wonderful. If you like desserts, you're going to love their bakery.....so many choices!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“you like selection?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Always a good selection! Not just a burger shop, but a great variety of different menu items and a friendly staff.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Deserts, good burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place has an amazing desert gallery and its hard to resist after eating to take something home. The burgers and fries are good and they have specials, the sweet tea is really good southern sweet tea.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher Shop also viewed

 

Been to Butcher Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butcher Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.