We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the food - breakfast and lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Panera Bread

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Panera Bread
481 East Loop 281, Longview, TX
+1 903-663-5200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 184 Restaurants in Longview
Cuisines: American, Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Description: We are bakers of bread. We are fresh from the oven. We are a symbol of warmth and welcome. We are a simple pleasure, honest and genuine. We are a life story told over dinner. We are a long lunch with an old friend. We are your weekday morning ritual. We are the kindest gesture of neighbors. We are home. We are family. We are friends.
Longview, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Love the food - breakfast and lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

NO ONE has a better Bagel and flavored Cream Cheese than Panera! I only wish they would have the pumpkin spice bagel all year round. But the Cinnamon Crunch Bagel is the best ANYWHERE! Dark Roast Coffee is very good. Decaf is TERRIBLE! The breakfast quiches are also really wonderful.

We've also eaten lunch there. Clam Chowder in a break bowl is out of this world good!!!

Others in our family had sandwiches and loved them. Outstanding service. Decent catering service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Consider the source...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Panera is a solid choice in Longview, not incredible but at least a quality product not dosed in troughs but in actual reasonable human sized portions.

Some of the complaints here written: "not enough food"... Clearly written by a feed trough Cheddar's aficionado...

Sigh... Panera represents a quality product in the baking bread chain industry. Good, reliable but not incredible compared to say a Boulangerie in Normandy... Good news is it is instead to be compared instead to the absolute dearth of remotely similar products in the culinary wasteland of East Texas. To that end it is the best show in its genre in a bleak culinary oil field town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great Bread...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

There was a lot of anticipation when Panera announced a location in Longview, so after the crowds thinned a bit we decided to give it a go. The hype about the restaurant is their fresh bread daily campaign, and it is very good. We now get their baggets and take them home. As far as the dining experience, it is a fast food joint, fancier than most, pricier than some...but it is fast food, nothing more. So be ready of the fast food experience with counter ordering, get your own drinks, and bus your own table if they are busy. Food was fine, but Longview is sandwich central with numerous deli/sandwich places from which to choose within a stone's throw. So take your pick because in the long run, a sandwich and soup is pretty much the same all over. BTW, what's the deal with Panera Bread and St. Louis Bread, they have these all over Missouri and they are all the same.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Brand new Panera Bread Restaurant in Northeast Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I live in Texarkana, TX, but had heard that Panera Bread just opened up a new restaurant in Longview and I had to check it out. It's located on the Northeast Loop of Longview, just west of Wal-Mart, and is near many new motels, restaurants, and stores. Good location. The Panera Bread Restaurant is very nice, with a nice layout as you walk through the front door. There's a big selection of items to choose from. I decided to try a bowl of the Black Bean Soup, which was excellent. It came with a roll of fresh baked bread. The staff was friendly, and it didn't take long for them to bring me my order. I hope they decide to build one of their restaurants in Texarkana.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Staff was friendly, helpful and informative about the menu. They allowed us to sit, drink coffee, and visit as long as we wanted. It has a nice, quiet, unhurried atmosphere that is very pleasant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panera Bread also viewed

 

Been to Panera Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panera Bread, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.