We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to bad for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam's Southern Eatery

Sam's Southern Eatery
3495 McCann Road, Longview, TX
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 185 Restaurants in Longview
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Restaurant details
Hallsville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Not to bad for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

It's not fresh from the gulf seafood like you can get on the coast, but for the price you pay it's pretty good. The grilled shrimp po boy is my favorite.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    4
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longview, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This isn't gulf seafood”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

No way you can get a plate of loaded shrimp for 6-8$ that is quality. Stuffed shrimp was the worst I have ever eaten. If you don't know what seafood is supposed to taste like and can eat roadkill this could very well be your place. Won't ever eat here again unless it were to change a ton.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Oak, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good 'ole southern fried food! Leave your diet at the door!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have to be honest by saying that you should probably avoid this place if you're watching your weight or cholesterol. You can gain weight just walking in the door and smelling everything frying in oil! The food, though extremely fattening, is very good and the portions are great. The shrimp are HUGE by anyone's standards. My husband and I usually get a fried shrimp platter. My son ordered a grilled shrimp platter last time and I had to laugh because it was coated in oil and was more like a pan fried shrimp stir fry with peppers and onions than any type of grilled shrimp I've ever experienced. Fattening? Yes, but it was oh so good. Macaroni & Cheese - yummy. Coleslaw - yummy. The PoBoy sandwiches are equally good and huge! Like I said, leave the diet at the door and come in you want some good old comfort food!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladewater, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

we went on the recommendation of a friend, and were pleased with our visit. You for sure get plenty to eat, and it's very good. Prices are reasonable. It was crowded when we went, but they were still fairly new to the area.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fried Fish/Seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Food is good. We went right after they opened. Each dish has enough for two people, so only order one dinner and ask for an extra plate. I don't recall anything in this restaurant being grilled. Seems everything was fried. We have only been once and it was good. Not spectacular, tho.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Southern Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Southern Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam's Southern Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.