We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems here, mate.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plum Creek Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lockhart
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Plum Creek Inn
Save
You added Plum Creek Inn to your Saves list
2001 Highway 183 South, Lockhart, TX 78644   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lockhart
San Antonio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No problems here, mate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

It seems that the Plum Creek got a bum rap from some grouchy folks for reasons I could not see or find. The just-this-past-week visit there was for a single night, but the motel was very clean, well kept, and the management was most accommodating. It isn’t a brand-new place if that’s what you have to have and are willing to pay extra to have that. By the way, the temperature in Lockhart was about 103F that day and the Plum Creek air worked well. What a relief! The bath room was clean as was the room. The layout is unique and very private. Very clean pool too. Lockhart has good BBQ and the Mexican restaurant next to the Plum Creek has good, inexpensive, quality food. I’d stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plumcreekinn, Owner at Plum Creek Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for your honest opinion and glad to hear that you would like to stay with us.
May god bless you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    2
    0
    11
See reviews for
8
3
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

You get what you pay for, but its clean and the staff is awlays nice. No fancy anything, but Ive stayed several times over the last few months, and the beds and bathrooms are aways clean. No fitness center, no breakfast, sketchy wifi, but its cheap. No bugs as previously stated. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plumcreekinn, Owner at Plum Creek Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thanks for you kind words. Happy that you got your money's worth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockhart, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

this is a nasty place needs major cleaning and new house keepers and new management if they would see that the beds were not durty they wouldnt take them off they would leave them on there and still make the beds the dont wash the top blankets only if they smell dont clean under the beds or between the doors some house keepers were not responsible that instead of doing there job and clean keep everything nice and tight the would sit in the bed and watch tv instead of spending the time cleaning the room right and doing there job come on if you want to get paid for doing nothing that aint right just stay you at home and the owner that own that are harley even there since they come from out of town

Room Tip: never stay there its not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I wanted to do my part in supporting local businesses by holding my baby shower here. Worst decision ever!! Not only is the staff rude but so is the owner. When I went to view the conference room the owner showed it to us, seemed nice and assured us that the space would be clean; even said she would rent it w/out taking a deposit! Which was nice seeing it was a so-so room that we were renting for $150 plus tax for 4hrs. 2 days before my shower my mother & I back to refresh our memory of the space. Room windows were still filthy w/ hand prints & dead bugs guts smashed on them. Floor was still dirty with cricket bodies scattered about, the bar area had been filled with tables stacked behind it and tons of chairs. Before leaving we asked the front desk lady if windows could be cleaned, floor vacuumed & tables & extra chairs moved out b/c we would need the whole space for the amount of ppl we had coming. She looked at us blankly saying she guess she could ask maintenance to do so & we would have to speak to the owner about the tables & chairs. Sunday comes & thankfully we decided to go early to check on room. The owner was extremely upset with us b/c "we complained" about the room. We tried explaining we had not complained only asked for it to be cleaned. (God forbid) She chewed us out saying if we wanted it clean we had to do so, that she told us that. "you clean before, you clean up after"...then the tables & chair issue she told us they could not be moved b/c she was renovating her rooms. It was Sunday she didn't have maintenance there to move them nor a place. Idk if you follow but apparently it's ok to charge someone $150 + tax for a dirty room that 1/4 of the space "they" occupied. After paying an extra $25 and giving her a credit card she allowed us to move table & chairs into another room. She went on & on about how she didn't live here she lived in Houston..(relevance=NONE) and was like I told you tables couldn't be moves but whatever! Enjoy your party. Gee thanks! Thankfully we got set up in time & had a wonderful turn out despite a rough start. I do no recommend bringing your money to this business. Owner is very unprofessional, facility is dirty. I can only hope you r have to clean the room you stay in the way you have to clean the conference area!?! Absolutely ridiculous!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plumcreekinn, Owner at Plum Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Guests were taken to meeting room to show it was not rentable as we were putting new furniture in rooms. They were told that furniture could not be moved but they still insisted on renting it. We gave them $25.00 discount. We clean meeting room in the morning before it is rented and not two days in advance. It was a clean meeting room when rented. Guests wanted more area probably because they expected more guests. They willingly moved the chairs and were charged $25.00 for using more room. Their guests started coming in at about10.00 A.M. and they were in the room till 6.00 P.M. That is one full day and not 4 hrs. We even guided their guests whenever they asked for directions or for any kind of help at our end.
We insist that our guests keep our motel clean as much as possible, turn off utilities if not needed and go green by recycling.
People should not complain just for sake of complaining or getting discount after using the facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The rooms were not very clean...my husband woke up in the middle of the night and had BED BUGS crawling on him and we also found them on his shorts that he had thrown over a chair...the owners did not give us any kind of an apology or compensation for this...you have to keep a clean place to keep these critters out!!! Housekeepers are not very good at doing their job either...there was mold on the shower curtain and we changed rooms twice and found the same thing. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND STAYING HERE!!! ROOMS HAVE BEEN THE SAME FOR OVER 20 YEARS...THERE HASN'T BEEN ANY UPGRADES TO ANYTHING...INCLUDING THE FURNITURE WHICH IS FALLING APART!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plumcreekinn, Owner at Plum Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Someone from the same group that was here on 28th July 2012. How come she found bed bugs when she was not even in the room? They checked out yesterday. They rented two patio rooms which open at the swimming pool for their pool side party with back doors open. Bugs will get into the room if the doors are left open in exterior corridor motel. Use common sense.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My wife's mother and Aunt were holding a get together for their birthdays. We booked 2 rooms at the Plum Creek Inn. About 50 of us ate at the restaurant and proceeded to the room. TWO of our party were at the pool...my son and his wife who travelled from Alaska where they serve in the US ARMY. The manager came out and told us that we were stealing from her because we were using the facilities without paying. We DID pay for two rooms. When my daughter in law asked why we were being asked to leave the pool... the manager told her to shut up !!!.. We were told to leave the premises even though we paid for a room. Wehad to leave or the police would be called. Her comment was " I dont want your money and I dont need your business." Trust me...I ask that EVERYONE respect her wishes and stay the hell away form this craphole. The place is falling down and is full of bugs !!!!!

Room Tip: ANY where but here !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plumcreekinn, Owner at Plum Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
They rented two rooms and fifty people at the pool. They wanted to have a pool side party by inviting 50 people and paying for two rooms. We allow our guests only at the swimmimng pool and imagine 50 people in two rooms. If they had 50 people they should have rented our meeting room. The complainant was very loud, drunk and used foul language. Two of her invited guests asked us to ignore her. We could not rent one room because there were so many people at swimming pool and we suffered revenue loss. It is our policy not to argue with people who are not in command of their senses, let the local police handle them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

after driving 12hrs we decided to rent a room and rest...67.oo dollars a night didnt seem bad for one night! walked in room and really didnt look bad it wasn't great but it looked ok to get some rest...until 5hrs later that my husband was going to take shower and his shorts were full of brown bugs we checked mattressed and as soon as i picked up mattress there they were!!!it was gross!!!i called the front desk and the first thing she said was that the rooms were at discount price i told her i didnt want a discount i wanted them to close up the room and take care of there bug problem i have five bits on my arms that itch like crazy!!!!NEVER AGAIN!!!!

Room Tip: check your mattresses!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plumcreekinn, Owner at Plum Creek Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We did find bugs in the room. The front desk clerk had rented the room which should not have been rented. We had a guest from east coast staying in that room for few days prior to this guest. It is our practice to deep clean the room after weekly or longer stay. This room is a patio room with two doors, one at each end. People staying here for long period of time sit out in patio with back door open. There are all the chances of bugs and flying insects getting into the room if the doors are left open, as this motel is spread out over 10 acres of land.
This guest had complained to State Dept. of Health and city health inspector was at our property next day to investigate. The inspector found bugs but not bed bugs.
We deep cleaned the room next day and since then no complaints from that room.
Guest threatened to complain to State if no refund was given. Being polite is a better way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plum Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plum Creek Inn

Address: 2001 Highway 183 South, Lockhart, TX 78644
Location: United States > Texas > Lockhart
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lockhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique boutique motel spread over 10 acres of land with 10 separate buildings. Tex-Mex resataurant on premise. Owner-Manager on property most of the time. Right across from new Super Walmart. Upgraded new rooms. 18 miles from formuls Race 1 Track. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plum Creek Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.