We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Another Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Walden Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Walden Plantation to your Saves list
Walden Plantation
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1690 County Road 102, Llano, TX 78643   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Llano B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Worth Another Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

We enjoyed the Texas hill country with an anniversary weekend at Walden Plantation. The setting was beautiful along the Llano River. We enjoyed the view of the river and hills from the pool, spa and while kayaking. The weekend was very relaxing and definitely worth another visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
33
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We were looking for a quaint B&B just outside of Fredericksburg, and we found a gem in Walden Plantation. The Plantation itself is beautiful and we loved the surroundings. Everything was better than described, from the accomodations to the food. We absolutely loved the Manager...she was helpful and very sweet. We were booked to stay 2 nights but unfortunately had a family emergency and had to leave after one night. We were not charged for the 2nd night and were treated with excellent customer service and genuine concern. The food is delicious and the cook was enjoyable as well. I highly recommend Walden Plantation if you are looking for a quiet escape. We are excited to return and get to enjoy a full stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseshoe Bay, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We had a wonderful time at Walden Plantation. They were very accomodating of our group of couples and provided a great experience for our frinds birthday party.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

The owners are very sweet and welcoming. Wonderful food. The river was not far at all from where the b and b is located. The only thing was the food and drinks were a little over priced other wise.
Overall I would go back.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed for a weekend and wanted to stay for a lifetime. The owners, treat you with first class Texas hospitatlity and make sure your every need is met while making you feel a part of the family. The accomidations are first class and not a detial was left out. As soon as you get there, you will already be planning your trip back to the Walden Plantation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

I have not been one to stay at Bed and Breakfast for several reasons. I was concerned about sharing bathrooms or running into strangers in the hall way. The Walden Plantation is actually better than a Bed and Breakfast because it is more like your own suite. All entrances to the rooms are from the outside with a very large space bedroom with a large bathroom area and closet. I especailly enjoyed the comfortable bed and sleep very well.
The staff was very friendly and accomidating. The breakfast is like a B&B but served in another building very close to the rooms.
If you are looking for a beautiful location next to the river that gives you a feeling you are far away from the big city this is a must on your list of places to stay. There is plenty of things to do in the area. If you enjoy wine they are very close to a local winery as well as many other attractions for a couple or family.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

We called on the phone and made a reservation. They didn't mention it was $200/night. Anyways we get there, they show us the room and leave. It looked nice. Chocolate on the pillows,etc. Then we found out that the A/C didn't work. We went downstairs to get another room. They showed us a room in the front instead. We went in. My husband and I suspected something was up after looking around, like someone was staying here already. There were no chocolates on the bed. There was two half empty bottles of water on the bathroom counter. The fridge was not as stocked as the other one was. Things like that. So when we left, we received our receipt by email and they had charged us for a higher priced room and had charged us for using 6 beers, a gatorade, 4 bottles of water and a soft drink. I emailed them and they said they would fix it immediately because we don't drink and we didn't use any of their drinks in the fridge. We brought our own water and gatorade. They said they would fix it, but didn't and still haven't. I will be filing a complaint against this ugly place for sure. Don't make the same mistake we did, run away from this place. And the other comments about the way the place looks is dead on. No lobby or gathering areas. Small pool. No handicap stuff anywhere. They should be shut down. It's NO plantation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walden Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walden Plantation

Address: 1690 County Road 102, Llano, TX 78643
Location: United States > Texas > Llano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Llano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Walden Plantation 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Walden Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walden Plantation Hotel Llano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walden Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.