We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courthouse Whistlestop Cafe

Courthouse Whistlestop Cafe
318 North Washington Avenue, Livingston, TX
(936) 327-3222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 41 Restaurants in Livingston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Modena, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This old-style place offers great food in a very beautiful atmosphere!! I recommend it to all who wants to jump into the old country times and enjoy great food!"

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    22
    14
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A place where history meets modern day. When you dine here you are waited on by friendly staff and you are likely to see the who's who of the town. Their breakfast is excellent. Don't forget to try to get a window seat so you can see the busy town square while you enjoy your meal.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic breakfast experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

2nd time here for breakfast and had the same thing, corned beef hash special. By far the best anywhere I have been all over the country. Fantastic service, good coffee and that overall warm feeling. Gotta visit if you are passing through Livingston.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Kind of food you would expect to find here. The waitress was so kind & helpful w our questions about the area, restaurants, shops, fixed our camera, & wore a smile the whole time. That always makes good food taste better. I ate more fried green tomatoes than I should have! We all cleaned our plates.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“YUM, YUM, YUM!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I were on our way to Shreveport, Louisiana from Houston early Friday morning and got hungry.

Looked under Trip Advisor for best restaurants in Livingston and the Courhouse Whistlestop Cafe was rated #1.

We stopped by there before 7a on Friday morning.

What a SPECIAL treat. Cheese omelette was delicious. My husband ordered the pancakes and he loved those too.

Coffee was delicious.

Loved this restaurant. Staff was very friendly. There are even antiques in the restaurant.

Definitely need to try this place -- you will be glad you did!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Courthouse Whistlestop Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Courthouse Whistlestop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courthouse Whistlestop Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.