We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 Stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Romano's Macaroni Grill

Romano's Macaroni Grill
2437 S Stemmons Fwy, Lewisville, TX 75067-8764
972-459-7700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 222 Restaurants in Lewisville
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Argyle, Texas
Top Contributor
314 reviews 314 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
“3.5 Stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

We both had the Portofino shrimp pasta. It was a little too oily and they forgot to add the pine nuts but it was still quite good. Very nice service and half price house wine!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Arrived during evening diner rush and was greeted with a warm smile and seated immediately.
Server was prompt and made suggestions.

Had the stuffed mushrooms and then the lobster ravioli ...both were excellent

Will be back again next time in town!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

They have a great deal on soup, salad, and sandwich for $10 before 4pm, including the yummy bread and oil snack. I had a superb lunch with perfect service. They sat me at a booth and skipped the ritual of crayons on paper tablecloths.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The appitizers won!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was our first time to try Romano's Macaroni Grill. The highlights of the whole visit was being able to watch the kitchen as they prepared the orders and the appetizers. This gave us good expectations seeing the plates as they left the kitchen. We started off with the complimentary bread and olive oil. The bread was very good. We had the house wine which was served on the honor system. They leave the bottle on the table and you marked how many glasses that was poured. The wine was average dinner red wine. Our appetizers were the Chianti Sausage with crispy Potatoes and the Spicy Ricotta Meatballs. All was very good and flavorful but small on size. The 5 meatballs were the size of half dollars. The sausage was 6 thinly diagonally sliced pieces. The value was both for $9.00. Our entrees were the Chicken Marsala, the Chicken Parmesan and the Grilled Shrimp Spiedini. The serving size seemed small compared to the price of each dish. The Chicken Marsala was a 3 thinly sliced chicken breast in a mushroom and garlic sauce with a small pile of thin pasta with a bland marinara sauce. The mushrooms and garlic was the main parts of the dish. The chicken and pasta was kinda bland. The Chicken Parmesan had 3 thinly breaded chicken patties with a serving of thin pasta and a bland marinara. It would have been better with a thicker and more flavorful marinara on both. The Grilled Shrimp Spiedini was the better of all three entrees. The shrimp was large and delicious. Also on the plate was grilled vegetables. They were a little too grilled but ok. The service was fair with the waitress having to return several times to bring forgotten items. We might return and try something else on the menu but as of now we were not impressed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Homemade Chocolate Cake is NOT a Winner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went to Romano's Macaroni Grill for dessert. We ordered the homemade chocolate cake because we wanted something warm and chocolate-y. The "cake" had a very hard shell on the outside and was super dry and bitter on the inside. We mixed the ganache into the cake, but it didn't really help. It did NOT hit the spot and I will never order the homemade chocolate cake again. I would, however, suggest the Sicillian Splash drink. It was quite tasty.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Macaroni Grill also viewed

 

Been to Romano's Macaroni Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romano's Macaroni Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.