We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Texas River Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress Frio Waters

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leakey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cypress Frio Waters
Save
You added Cypress Frio Waters to your Saves list
273 Chalk Creek Rd, P.O. Box 981, Leakey, TX 78873   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Texas River Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have visited Cypress Frio Waters many times, and love it more with each visit.

I initially found it because I wanted a long weekend away from the city, in the beautiful Texas Hill Country, with nature, peace, and also a few activities!

There are so many wonderful perks of this spot:
-quiet, peaceful surroundings
-gorgeous stargazing at night, away from city pollution
-amazing cabins: pillow-top beds (and I'm picky!), high thread count sheets, incredibly clean bathrooms, large kitchenettes with all the appliances (nice coffeemaker, stoves, ovens, microwaves, refrigerator, even marble countertops!), A/C!, nice flooring, patios with tables and chairs overlooking the river
-swimming in the crystal clear, cold river
-kayaks!
-intertubes!
-rope swings!
-hiking
-barbque grills
-plenty of picnic tables
-volleyball
-horseshoes


Close proximity to San Antonio, Greune (Grismill!), Luckenbach, San Marcos (shopping!)

And the owners are so hospitable and warm. Welcome visitors with open arms!

I have no need for me to look further for river trips. Could not be any happier with Cypress Frio Waters.

Room Tip: Different sizes of cabins, some with queen beds, some with kings. All have pull-out sleeper sofas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CypressFrioWaters, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Jessica -

Thanks for the wonderful expressions of our place. We hope to see you soon! You are a jewel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

What a wonderful family experience Cypress Frio Waters was for my family. The cabins were beyond my expectations; cozy, comfortable and roomy. The grounds are absolutely a Texas treasure and the owners, David and Teresa made everyone feel like family. From the campfires to swimming in the chilly waters of the Frio, this experience will not disappoint. Thanks for making this a treasured family memory. We hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Recca -

Having your family here was wonderful. The laughs, chuckles and teasing are memories both of our families will treasure. It was a special time. Thanks for your review and do try to come back soon!

Happy Trails, Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I were looking for a getaway weekend in the country and this place had it all!!! Not only was the cost affordable but it had everything we needed!! There was no other place that offered everything. Theresa and Dave who are the owners were absolutely wonderful!! We felt so at home and welcomed like no other place we have been before. The cabins were so amazing and the wildlife was awesome!!! As for the views and landscape I can't put into words how breathtaking it really was........you will have to see for yourself!!! Actually we loved this place so much that we want to move there :) We reccommend coming to this place at least once to experience what we did. Thanks Theresa and Dave!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Thank you for your review and all the kind words. We hope to see you soon. Take Care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I, our children and grandchildren have all visited Cypress Frio Cabins many, many times!! It's the perfect place to go and get away from it all, and spend time relaxing in this beautiful setting! There is allot to do...swimming, horseshoes, volleyball, bird watching, hiking and more! Their cabins are awesome and they have the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on! The kitchens are fully equipped, and you have private access to the river, which is only 75 or so yards away from the cabins! They have tubes and canoes, etc, available to rent also! My granddaughter loves seeing the cows and all the wildlife out there! The Owners, David and Theresa Auld are so great and welcoming and they are there for anything you need at all! Thank you so for all you do and we will see you again real soon! I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Dawn -

Thank you so much for coming to stay with us.... David and I enjoy all the kids and Baby Ella. They are so much fun! Never a dull moment with lots of laughs. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We've gone to the Cypress Frio Cabins a few times now, and the place is absolutely wonderful! It's the perfect place when you want to get away from it all, and just relax.

There's lots to do, all kinds of exploring, hiking, swimming; David and Theresa provide some sporting equipment to get you started, but it never hurts to toss a soccer ball or football in while you're packing.

They've got fire rings with grates for outdoor cooking, and kitchenettes with basic equipment furnished. The main store in Leakey is just down the road, and you can pick up any supplies you may have forgotten, but I would recommend bringing a cooler and stopping at a supermarket in a bigger town on your way in. We stocked up in Frederickburg on our last trip there.

A great place - I'd highly recommend visiting here. One thing that's worked out for us was for our family of 4 to go with another family of 4, and rent both sides of one of their duplexes. A wonderful time!

Room Tip: We've only stayed in the duplexes, and all of them are the same layout, with only decorating dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Darlene -

Thank you again for choosing Cypress Frio Waters. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us. It is our pleasure to see people enjoy themselves and have a good time. Come back to visit when you can.

Happy Trails,
Theresa Auld
Cypress Frio Waters "where memories can be made for a life time...."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My friends and I went to Cypress Frio Cabins to relax a bit last summer. We were all so impressed with it! The owner's (David and Theresa) were wonderfully sweet and welcoming. We felt more like we were their family than just visitor's renting a cabin from them.

The cabins are very well appointed and easily and comfortably accommodated the four of us. The kitchenette had all the plates, glasses, etc we needed. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well.

There was a BBQ grill and tables to sit at which was nice. We saw other families enjoying those amenities, but we were more interested in floating on the river! We loved it! We just floated around on our tubes enjoying the beauty, peacefulness, and (of course!) our beverages. There was also a spot further down the river where the water was really shallow and you could just sit in the river and relax for a while.

Overall, I think you get the best of both a nice hotel stay and camping. The cabins are new and nicely appointed, but the grounds remind me a bit of camping. Although, I should add that my idea of "camping" always includes hot showers and toilets that flush so those of you that truly camp may not agree. I can't wait to go back and spend some more summer days floating on the Frio!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa A, Owner at Cypress Frio Waters, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Thank you so much for posting a review about Cypress Frio Waters. It was wonderful you came to enjoy our cabins on the river. We welcome you back anytime and thanks again for the review and comments.

Happy Trails,
Theresa Auld
Cypress Frio Waters - "Where memories can be made for a life time..."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cypress Frio Waters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Frio Waters

Address: 273 Chalk Creek Rd, P.O. Box 981, Leakey, TX 78873
Location: United States > Texas > Leakey
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Leakey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cypress Frio Waters is located on the Frio River just 3 miles north of Leakey, TX off of US83. This is a family fun getaway for all to enjoy. We are open for all seasons! There are many activities with tubing, kayaking, canoes, swimming, horseshoes, volleyball, basketball, soccer, bird watching, hiking and many more activities. The river is about 75 yds. from the back porches of the cabins. Comfortable and nice accommodates with private access to the river. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cypress Frio Waters Leakey, Texas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress Frio Waters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.