We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place To Be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2500 South Shore Blvd., League City, TX 77573   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Relax-Rejuvenate Spa Pkg
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in League City
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The Place To Be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

South Shore Harbor was and is the perfect place to be for a family get away. This was our family reunion's 18th gathering since 1985 and our 2nd Family reunion vacation. By far this was the best ever and SSHR helped make that possible. The location, facility, staff, and rooms were commendable. Certain issues came about as most have experienced with other hotels in the past. Those issues were addressed promptly and satisfactory. We were please enough to consider a repeat at some point in the future if the reunion group votes accordingly.

Paradise Reef Restaurant served us a hearty hot breakfast everyday. We sure missed the waffles that were shown on the website :(. Disappointed several young family members. A lot of family compliments on the crispy tasty bacon too.

Thanks Sharon, Darlene, Lynette, and especially Andrew. Does he ever sleep? He is the same mild mannered and kind young man no matter what time of day it is! Thanks again SSHR.

Room Tip: Regular rooms that are odd numbered have a balcony with a view of the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSHR, General Manager at South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
It is so nice to hear that not only did your recent reunion go well and your family enjoyed themselves, but are considering coming back for a “repeat” reunion. Our team works hard to meet and exceed guest expectations and request, and when we do fall short, we work harder to make it right. Thank you for singling out some of our staff, as we try to celebrate our staffs efforts when they go above and beyond. Thank you for your business and for taking the time to share with others. We are proud that we were able to help make your Family Reunion a good one.



Roy Green

General Manager

SSHR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    50
    54
    26
    18
See reviews for
50
48
3
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Husband and I took advantage of a local deal that included 2 nights, breakfast each day, and a $50 meal credit at SSHR because we had been wanting to visit Space Center Houston, which is close by. When we checked in, the woman at the desk had a dead look in her eyes. She gave us our keys and coupons, but didn't tell us how to get to our room. It took several minutes of wandering around to find the elevator. Not too welcoming.

The room we were given was worn-looking and not that clean. I found a piece of pepperoni on the chair in a spot that would have been obvious to anyone who cared. The bed was old and mushy. There were only 3 very mushy, low-quality pillows on the bed. The towels also were kind of thin.

The breakfast buffet was about a step above the free continental breakfast you get at a chain hotel. The eggs were cold both days and clearly made from a liquid egg product. The pastries were warehouse-club quality. It was strictly self-serve on beverages also, though the coupons noted that we should leave a gratuity. Not sure why, since we didn't receive service.

As unremarkable as breakfast was, dinner was way, way worse. The server didn't care enough to check on us for drink refills or to see how we liked the food. I ordered an entree that came with fries and didn't receive ketchup with it. The spinach and artichoke appetizer tasted like it came out of a plastic tub and the accompanying chips were a bit stale. The tomatoes in the salad were under-ripe and the salad as a whole was unappetizing. It was one of those meals that leave you feeling nasty.

The hotel was noisy day and night, with slamming doors at all hours and music coming up from the pool deck after 10pm. The pool itself was much smaller than it looks on the hotel website and so crowded that the people in it could hardly move.

We won't be back, deal or not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Times
Check in: 4:00p
Check out: 12:00p

Mom and I, a couple of locals celebrating our birthdays, decided to take advantage of a nice Groupon for a once coveted local resort.

Upon our arrival at 4:30 PM, however, our room was still not available. In the minimal communication we received regarding our room being unavailable, it was revealed that a previous guest, Had allegedly bolted the door from within and left through an adjoining room, which caused our delay... Apparently taking them five hours to discover... Unfortunately in the lobby the only person that even attempted to communicate and keep a status on our room was the pool towel check in and out guy, Rex. He was the only one in the lobby that made us feel welcome!
We also couldn't find a luggage rack, and he exhausted himself trying to find me one during our wait. When he first couldn't find it he offered to carry our stuff for us once we had a room.

Just before 5 PM mom and I made it to our room, which by the way was not an adjoining type room.
The rooms were cute and clean… However the chairs were stained or ripped and there was a crack in the ceiling above the shower. The bed was also off its track and had a huge dip in it and the toilet not flush properly as the water would keep running long after use.

Once we made way to the pool area, which was very refreshing and the swim up bar was nice. However, getting to the pool was a little more challenging as there were no posted signs when she stepped off the lower level elevator. We finally found ourselves walking through a banquet room to get to the pool.

Unfortunately There were no more pool towels available for check out, so staff tried to make amends by providing a couple of bath towels… That turned out to be bathmats. I suppose it was better than nothing.

Also, there was no hot tub anymore as it had been filled in. The drinks were nice, and very strong… You can take that as a pro or con for your personal likes.

In the evening we went to the lobby lounge for a little bit of dinner, with our $25 credit from our group on. The staff there was not eager all to provide us any service is the four of them huddled in conversation.

We finally made way to the bar to ask them to please take our order… The only service we received was when they brought the food out, no refills, no checking on how we're doing, and we even cleared our own table.

The rooms were not Resort bed outfitted and sadly were not terribly comfortable through the night.

Their breakfast times were reasonable ending at 10 AM, however, when we reached the Paradise Reef breakfast buffet at 9:30am, we were given more excuses about an unexpected 500 guests coming down to breakfast, and having to wait for our table. We were only delayed a minute, but when we walked in we found the place nearly empty and several tables ready to receive more guests.

We jumped in line and started picking through the leftover food, as they did bring out more food for the buffet, which was pretty good. There was an array of fruits, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage (which wasn't so great), cereal for the kids, and the breads that were all hard.

After a few bites of food, I realize that apparently beverages were also self-serve…
I got up for my table and started serving coffee to myself and nearby guests, that looked about as thirsty as I was, Then poured myself and my mother a couple of glasses of water, but the orange juice pitcher was empty and never refilled in the time that we were there.

Additionally, the "resort" room doors are incredibly heavy and all night long it sounds like people are slamming their doors… my aggravation was heightened this morning my as the room service folks continuously slammed door after door after door... Not my favorite way to wake up.

During my shower, I discovered that the soaps and conditioning shampoo were not up to my idea of Resort standards, But we will say that the resort did try to make amends for our one hour late check-in, by giving us one additional hour for our check out.

I am thankful for the Groupon is it gave me an opportunity to truly understand what I would expect at this hotel, however the base price would have been very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSHR, General Manager at South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Its very obvious by the inordinate number of complaints and problems that we did not come close to meeting any of your expectations. After reading your review I could find only that you found our rooms to be "cute and clean" and our drinks to be "nice and very strong". Every other aspect of your stay was unacceptable. I can only apologize for our staff and service and will do my best to address each and every problem you encountered. It is rare that a guests of ours has so many issues and I am truly disappointed that the review and comments were so negative. Our goal is to exceed guests expectations however with your recent stay, we fell short.

Roy Green
General Manager
SSHR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great value on a trip advisor deal; excellent service from the front desk, restaurant, housekeeping and engineering. Beautiful pool, great breakfast buffet, perfect location, close
to Kemah, stores, bars/restaurants. Room was perfect but very cold; engineering adjusted temp, underground parking helps on hot summer days. Great view of the marina.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSHR, General Manager at South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Close to Everything and Far from it All is one of our themes, and you summed that up with your very kind comments. We appreciate all the feedback we receive and use it to correct mistakes and concerns and to reinforce our customer service and product. Thank you for taking the time to share and stay with us. Enjoy your summer.



Roy Green

General Manager

SSHR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The location is good for what I was down there for, but the rooms are dirty and the bathrooms r small. The breakfast in the morning is great!! The pool is ok nothing to great. Service is good they make it a point to make the guest happy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSHR, General Manager at South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
I am sorry to hear that your stay did not go as well as we both would have liked. The fact that the morning breakfast was enjoyed and our service was acceptable is good to hear. The bathrooms are not oversized, but have been completely redone in 2009 with new tile floors, granite counter tops etc. I am disappointed however to hear that you found your room not to clean. I hope that you allowed us the opportunity to either correct the problem or to change your room to one that was satisfactory. All our rooms are cleaned by a staff member and then inspected by a supervisor. We will investigate further and try to determine which room is in question. Our goal is to exceed our guest expectations and when we fall short, we certainly attempt to make it right. Thank you for taking the time to give us the valuable feedback. I hope you will consider giving us another chance to make your next stay more enjoyable.



Roy Green

General Manager

SSHR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lobby: not grand, but good enough.
Parking: underground, great for hot summer months.
Neighborhood: it has its own community, many people are fitness center member and boar owner who parked at the harbor right next to the hotel. After driving outside, there are many stores on the main road, easy to get stuff. Short drive to Kemah.
Stairway: I always try to climb the stairwell if possible. The stairway is clutter free, however it has some urine smell on the day when we left. Lit well.
Room: Big and balcony, old style of decor but clean. Nice bed.
Pool: very nice, kids were mainly at one side and the other side with bar are mainly adults.
Pool side service: ladies serving drink are very friendly and nice.
Restaurant: surprisingly reasonable food price, we did get food credit when buying the package and $25 can feed a 2 adults and 2 children. The turkey sandwich we had was awesome, very fresh fruit. Breakfast buffet is good, very fresh and delicious.
People: lots of family with children, they also have good amount of adults party at the bar side having fun drinking with DJ playing music, most people are really friendly and nice.

Room Tip: I think higher floor will have much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSHR, General Manager at South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a thorough review of the property and your stay. We are very proud of our location in League City. Being located on the Marina and appx. 4 miles off of I-45, gives us a peaceful and relaxing setting for our guests and conference attendees. The Fitness Center is amazing and located just a short .10 minute walk from the hotel. And like you mentioned, Kemah is only 1 mile away, so is easy and quick to find. Our staff walks the stairways daily, so will be sure and check out the smell you mentioned. Thanks for the nice comments on the pool and the staff. It’s a tough job working outside in the heat, but the 180’ pool and swim up bar make for a fun and enjoyable experience. I will be sure and also pass on your kind words about our chef’s food and the Paradise Reef staff. Thank you again for the feedback and wishing you and yours a safe summer.



Roy Green

General Manager

SSHR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was an excellent value. Nice room, dated but great for the money. The marina on the other side is lovely and fun to take walks on.
We enjoyed the big but overcrowded pool with live music for the 4th. Go before the pool opens to get a chair on the 5th!
Inside bar offered free food and discounted drinks for Happy Hour. that was great.
Service at the front desk was good. They made a great effort. Breakfast was a long wait to be seated and greeted by server. Bring your own food, drive to starbucks or wait a long time, - in hotel breakfast solution: go early or go late!
The gyms is fabulous! Well worth the $5 per person. The spa inside was modest but friendly and you need to book in advance.
We will go back!

Room Tip: This hotel was an excellent value. Nice room, a bit dated but comfortable with a nice mini fridge an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2500 South Shore Blvd., League City, TX 77573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > League City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in League City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Shore Harbor Hotel League City
South Shore Harbor Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.