We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past her glory days” 2 of 5 stars
Review of South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2500 South Shore Blvd., League City, TX 77573   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Resort Package
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in League City
Granbury, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Past her glory days”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at South Shore Harbor this last weekend. It was our 2nd time there. Our last visit was over New Year's of 2001 at which time this was a great place. She has greatly deteriorated since our last visit. The hotel has the musty smell that you typically find in older Mexican resorts throughout the property. The rooms have been somewhat renovated (bathrooms) but otherwise are very dated. The dresser in our room has a drawer that was off its hinges and we could not get it back on. No chairs on the balcony (come on - even the cheap hotels have this). Towels were Motel 6 quality. This is definitely not a resort other than the landscaping and the pool area. We stayed here because of location (near to relatives we were visiting). Will look elsewhere in the future.

Room Tip: If you can - try to get a balcony room. That way you can open the door to relieve some of the musty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    65
    61
    33
    20
See reviews for
57
55
4
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

My husband I stayed at this resort five years ago for our first anniversary and decided to return recently for our sixth. What a difference five years makes... First of all, the resort badly needs a renovation. Paint was pealing, the bed and bedding was outdated, and it does not appear that the resort has had a thorough cleaning since the last time we were there. Secondly, it appears that they need a staff overhaul as well, with the exception of the guys that give out pool towels. No one else was over friendly and the breakfast staff was horrible. It is a buffet, but I expect someone to come over and at least pour my coffee. There was NO service and the supervisor actually came by to pick up a plate and did not say a single word to us, no "was everything good" or anything. However, the pool area is enjoyable and the resort is on the best location in the Bay area, looking out over the marina and bay. That was the highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had our High School Reunion here in July and it was fabulous! The hotel is gorgeous, the staff is excellent, the rooms were neat and clean, and the whole experience was great! The room we had the actual Reunion in was spacious and had plenty of windows to look out over the marina. The staff who served the food - which was an epicurean delight, by the way - was gracious and accommodating to all of the participants. We could not have asked for a better place to get together. The complimentary breakfast was yet another treat! The buffet had everything imaginable one could want for breakfast. I will be going back just to relax and spend a quiet getaway another time.

Room Tip: Staying on the top floors allows a better scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Chosen for it's relatively close proximity to the Kemah Boardwalk, the South Shore provided a relatively clean room and an adequate hot breakfast. The cleanliness of the balcony was unappealing, and was full of various bugs and spiders though the view was impressive. Though breakfast was provided each morning for no extra cost (if you have the coupons), there proved to be little change in the daily menu (grits/bacon/sausage/eggs/biscuits plus cereal and various pastries)--though this could be different on Sundays (I did not attend breakfast that day). The air conditioning filter/unit was in need of some tlc, but overall worked well enough to keep the Texas heat at bay. The staff was nice, though we did not interact with them on a regular basis.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the surrounding marina,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

The location is right between Houston & Galveston so good if you want to split your time between the 2 places. This is located by the marina in a business center. It's far cry from resort status but is a nice hotel. It can do with a little updating but the room was spacious and clean. They did also give us a coupon for the sunday buffet. The staff was friendly. There was no valet service you park your own car but there was ample spaces. The pool was nice and they do have a swim up bar. All in all it's a nice place. But not a resort.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I am very impressed with the staff at South Shore Harbour. Everyone we encountered were friendly and accommodating. We had the best massage and pedicure services. The food was great and the waitstaff was very professional and provided excellent service. The bed was very comfortable and we slept so well. The shower was spacious and perfect. We want our shower at our future house to be just like it. It was one of the best experiences we have had and we look forward to having future weekend getaways at SSH.

Room Tip: Room 1001 is gorgeous with a view of the Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the SSH in 1990 and it was well kept and beautiful! Now, it seems like no one cares. The room smelled like mold, guestfloors had stained carpet, and I could barely see where I parked because the painted stripes were fading away. I just wish the hotel was booming like before.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2500 South Shore Blvd., League City, TX 77573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > League City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in League City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Shore Harbor Hotel League City
South Shore Harbor Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.