We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2500 South Shore Blvd., League City, TX 77573   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fit & Fun Family Getaway
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in League City
Arlington, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Had a great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was our 2nd time staying here. Absolutley loved it. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Our view was excellent. Room was huge. King size bed was very comfy. Loved the big walk in shower. Breakfast was great and the pool is beautiful. Makes you feel like you are part of a fancy Yacht Club. So close to Kemah Boardwalk and just a short drive to Galveston Beach. The price you pay for a room is very inexpensive and makes your trip much more affordable!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and stay here at the property. We are centrally locatd here on Clear Lake, and so many of our guests like to home base from the hotel, as they tour around and visit Kemah, Space Center Houston, Butler Longhorn Museum and many other attractions. We look forward to your next visit. Roy G. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    51
    55
    27
    18
See reviews for
51
48
4
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Overall the stay was not bad. The room was freezing and hard to get regulated. The bed was not comfortable. View was nice and we enjoyed the balcony. This resort is showing its age. The service at breakfast was poor but the food was okay. The front desk service was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
My apologies for your stay not being as enjoyable as we both would have liked. Our rooms each have their own thermosts and a/c units, and our engineering department does have to make adjustments from time to time to ensure the thermostats are responding correctly. And I noticed the weekend of your stay we were sold out, and we try very hard to staff correctly in our restaurant for breakfast in order for the service levels to be up to our guest standards. We look forward to having you return soon for a more pleasant getaway. Roy G. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This hotel is a GREAT value compared to hotel rates
in Galveston which are out of sight in the summer months.
We paid $129.00 deluxe with breakfast included! Anyone who
thinks that is expensive does not get out much.

It is strictly 3 to 3 1/2 star. Food was very good in the restaurant
and was inexpensive for hotel food. Rooms are dated and that is
why it is a great value. Deluxe rooms were huge. Rooms have
a musty smell due to them being carpeted. I did not see the standard
room size. It is so cheap to upgrade to deluxe don't bother with
the standard as you are already getting an amazing deal!

When a remodel takes place it will be triple in price I am sure.
We stayed pre cruise and this was perfect. About 25 mins. from
the Port of Galveston. This is not a place for a romantic a Honeymoon
or getaway as it is families all summer long. We saved a lot of money
staying here 1 night as we originally wanted the Hilton in Galveston but
found the rates at $300.00 plus per night. I would go back again for the
savings.

Room Tip: We overlooked the Marina and it was a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

You can tell this "resort" had its better days. Now it is an older place, poorly maintained and staffed with a crowd of college students (at least at the front desk) who have no idea of what service is. Rooms are expensive, beds small, TV sets from the 80's. Breakfast buffet was mediocre. However, room service and a la carte dishes were pretty acceptable. Kudos to Magda for her professionalism. Other than that, very little to be rescued. Oh, wait, the views to the bay were nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these League City hotels

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

My family and I are currently at this (resort) and I use that term lightly. For the money that we've paid this hotel is terrible. From the food to the rooms to the front desk. I've stayed at cheaper hotels and have had better rooms and service. Beds were uncomfortable tv is outdated not enough towels and overall had a unclean feel. I've been hung up on by the front desk and when I finally spoke with someone all they could say was "wasn't me". Food was low budget at best. They comp the buffet (value 50 for 4) and it was cold watery and 0 taste

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
It is difficult sometimes to respond to guests who have had such a bad stay. We strive to make sure that all our guests have as an enjoyable and relaxing stay as possible. Our TV's are an older model, and we are beginning the process of replacing them with 32" LG TV's this month. All our mattresses were replaced in late 2009/2010, but certainly preferences for bed comfort will vary from guests to guests, and we try to accomodate the best we can. Our complimentary breakfast buffet is provided for certain rates and packages, and the vast majority of our guests truly enjoy our chefs breakfast buffet and the variety. My apologies to this family who had such a negative experience with service, food and room quality. I hope we can make it up to them if they choose to return. Roy G. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed at your hotel this past weekend for hte 4th or 5th time. I just wanted to say that Norma at the front desk is awesome and very helpful. She went above and beyond. She represents your hotel very well. Thanks Nick Bouchard

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

mold, mold, mold, dirty, no supplies in bathroom, not a friendly
staff.

Room Tip: check you room out first, if it has a mold smell do not stay in that room. check box springs under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2500 South Shore Blvd., League City, TX 77573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > League City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in League City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Shore Harbor Hotel League City
South Shore Harbor Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Shore Harbour Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.