We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staging place for a cross border shopping excursion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Posada Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Posada Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Zaragoza St., Laredo, TX 78040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Laredo
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Staging place for a cross border shopping excursion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is located in the historic town square which makes a nice island in the midst of blocks of rundown curio shops. The location overlooks two bridges into Nuevo Laredo Mexico one of which is pedestrian friendly. We were very pleased with the cleanliness of the facility and the courtesy of the staff. The valet parking was included in our room price and the the bell staff was very efficient. It made the arrival experience very nice. I would echo the comments in other reviews about the food in the restaurant. Very good, and there are not a lot of alternatives within walking distance on the American side anyway. Once caveat is not to plan on a quick meal. The service is slow, but again, not a big deal if you allow for it.
Our room had a balcony overlooking the river, and it was clean and comfortable. One hint might be to close the drapes and turn down the A/C upon arrival as it took a while to cool off our room (it was 102 degrees outside that day).
The grounds which contained two pools were beautifully landscaped and created a calming atmosphere in the midst of a bustling downtown area. All in all I would recommend this place and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    44
    11
    14
    8
See reviews for
21
28
7
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I just read Tim M's review about having a confirmed reservation and then upon arrival being told the guest in the room he had requested had decided to stay longer and the room was no longer available. The exact same thing happened to me a few months ago. Very upsetting. I had reserved a specific room many weeks prior to my arrival date and have been staying at the hotel for over 20 years. Staff at front desk made no offer of a complimentary meal or even a cocktail. Nothing like this would have happened in the "old days". Left a bitter taste.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had read many glowing reviews of La Posada Hotel in Laredo and my wife and I were going there to visit grandchildren so we thought we would stay at this "historic" hotel and I made a reservation for Memorial Day weekend 2013 and made the reservation a month in advance for a King bed suite. Upon arrival at the hotel, check in is at 4 p.m. and we arrived there at 4:15 p.m., there seemed to be much confusion about a room for us. The room they had reserved for us was occupied by someone who had decided to "extend" their stay. Rather than inconvenience THEM we were forced to hang around the lobby for close to 2 hours (we were told it would be a 30 minute wait) and told it was a shower curtain problem with the replacement room. We finally got into our room and found the carpet damp throughout the suite and it kind of a "wet dog" smell to it. Also it look like the room had been ransacked, all the doors and drawers were opened, cushions from couch and chairs on the floor, I had the impression they had sprayed the room for "something". We ran into 2 different couples that drive from other Texas cities just to spend the weekend there at that hotel and they were having problems too which they said was not normal. The staff seemed to be working hard to satisfy us and I have no complaint about the staff, and if it is customary for someone to extend their stay without warning then I should be compensated for ANY inconvenience with an upgrade or a meal in one of their restaruants. We left after one night and went to a chain hotel where we wer not disappointed in anyway. Maybe it was the holiday weekend, I don't know....but there was a lot of confusion and we were VERY dissappointed and won't be staying there on our next trip to Laredo.

Room Tip: Try to see the room first, check the carpet for dampness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed three nights in May 2013. Beautiful place with very helpful, friendly staff. Very quiet hotel in the heart of a quiet and lovely town. The pools and landscaping are incredibly maintained. Rooms are beautiful as well. Good price. Enjoyed a 1st floor suite with pool view, although I'm sure the other rooms are just as good. We plan on return trips. Convenient locations. Overall terrific experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

A lovely hotel in a not-so-lovely area. La Posada really tries to be a four-star property but their location works against them. The hotel overlooks the Rio Grande and Laredo's primary border crossing. When there used to be water in the river, it was probably a lovely view. The interior of the hotel is very nice, service is excellent and the rooms are very well-appointed and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel offers peace and quiet in a luxury environment, every thing was just first class with great rooms,polite and accommodating staff along with making our small dog very welcome.
We highly recommend this hotel and most certainly will be staying here again.

Room Tip: We had a second floor room with balcony overlooking the swimming pool and found it very quiet and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Inside the compound is a very nice clean hotel. The rooms are nice and the restaurant is outstanding. They keep everything spotless and the staff is very friendly. I also enjoyed the pool area, very scenic. The only negatives are the wireless internet is awful, and the location is scarey, plan accordingly.

The security around the hotel reminds me of India. Basically, you stay in your hotel and go out of the compound at your own risk. Fortunately, the hotel is nice enough to be marooned in, I always look forward to the meals when I have to go there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Address: 1000 Zaragoza St., Laredo, TX 78040
Location: United States > Texas > Laredo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Laredo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Posada Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fifty years, people have been falling in love with this legendary, boutique hotel. Built around four historic buildings along the banks of the Rio Grande, in the heart of downtown Laredo, La Posada Hotel was voted the #1 hotel in 2012 by the Texas Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelClick, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Laredo
La Posada Hotel Laredo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.