We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rio Grande and Mexico right out your window!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Posada Hotel to your Saves list
La Posada Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Zaragoza St., Laredo, TX 78040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Laredo
Certificate of Excellence
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
282 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Rio Grande and Mexico right out your window!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

La Posada has been the jewel of Laredo's hotels. Located at the wonderful old town square on the banks of the Rio Grande across from old Mexico. The two pool areas are lusciously landscaped and service amazing. The room rates are so reasonable too. The rooms are good sized but the one we were in was a little dated,, but clean. I prefer the rooms with a balcony overlooking Mexico, but at times they can be a bit noisy from bridge traffic and drug dogs that are housed nearby. But I Love being that close to Mexico! It is sad we no longer can pop over for a good margarita. But the Zaragoza grill makes a great margarita. Try the yummy Pancho nachos too. You will feel like you are in Old Mexico. We were there for George Washington's Birthday Celebration .. The Jamboozee... We had a ball!!! Will return!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yokum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I travel a LOT and have stayed here a number of times over a number of years. This hotel is hands down the best hotel within 100 miles this side of the Rio Grande. The staff is for the most part friendly, the rooms are unique, and the public areas are beautiful. The junior suite is big and reasonably priced. As a bonus you can get a room and look out your window into Mexico, less than a mile away. Sure, there have been some misteps and I am currently in a dust up with them over a $15 bar tab but this has happened with all of the chains. If you are fed up with the same cookie cutter room design and decor that you get with the big chains then this hotel will be a pleasant suprise. The best part is that the rooms cost the same or just a bit more than the chain's charge.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite on the south side for a view of Mexico.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank so1cher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I had to go to Laredo to take care of some personal business at the Webb County Courthouse and there's no handier place to stay than the La Posada. By Laredo's standards the rates are reasonable. And as for being convenient to the Mexican Border, it doesn't get any better. You pull up to the front door and from that moment you are met nice people with nice smiles. If you like, you let them park your car and you really don't need it until you're ready to check out. The Ladies at the front disk make you feel welcome and the rooms are all very nice.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey1947065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Two nice swimming pools. They are supposed to be heated, but apparently the heaters are broke. Two restaurants available, but they close early, like 10pm. Rooms are great, a fridge but no microwave. The biggest downfall is the smell off the Rio Grand. The property its very beautiful and romantic. The surrounding area has more to be desired, but it is Laredo right in the middle of two points of entry into the US.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j_bulldog_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Took three rooms to find one that just smelled bad and didn't have an a/c fan motor that didn't rattle or worse. The location isn't too bad if you are into the shopping scene with small shops around the hotel ( not my thing). Be prepared to wait for your water to warm as mentioned in some of the other reviews. Can't review the quality of sleep yet but hope I can get use to the bad smell enough that it won't keep me awake. Can't imagine all the rooms are as bad as the three I have experienced but I'm concerned I might get worse and I'm just too tired to make the long walk back to the lobby. Good luck.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Propquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The newly renovated hotel is gorgeous inside and out. It is a bit tricky getting there with all the one way streets, and parking is underneath the hotel! The rooms are beautifully decorated, and many on the first floor open right into the enclosed pool/atrium. I'll bet it would be quite noisy when the pools are in use or when there is a big reception in the ballroom, but for us it was quiet and relaxing. Be patient with the hot water- it takes a long time to arrive. The nearby shopping district is a bit overwhelming for the uninitiated.

Room Tip: Might be quieter on the outside away from the atrium and pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel has charm. It looks great and is in a neat location. Recent renovations make the guest rooms and bathrooms beautiful. There are nice building details everywhere. But that is not why we stay at hotels.

I am staying here right now. It is 10:00 p.m. There is no hot water for a shower. There was hair in the bath tub. I arranged for a airport pick up for the time I arrived this morning, and they picked me up 45 minutes late. The hotel information in the room is faded and stained. The film on the window is peeling. The binder with the hotel amenities is torn and coming apart. The food in the hotel resturant is fair at best. I have lived all over Texas, and the Mexican food was disappointing. The beans tasted like they came from a can, the chips were stale, and the chicken had no flavor.

While I like staying in local hotels when I can, I will not stay here in the future. A chain hotel may lack character, but at least there is hot water when I want to take a shower. Heck, the shuttle for the La Quinta was at the airport withing 10 minutes of our filght landing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanM52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laredo hotels
5.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Laredo
3.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Laredo
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Laredo
Red Roof Inn Laredo
#8 of 37 in Laredo
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Laredo at Mall del Norte
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Laredo
4.2 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Laredo Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Hotel

Address: 1000 Zaragoza St., Laredo, TX 78040
Location: United States > Texas > Laredo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Laredo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Posada Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fifty years, people have been falling in love with this legendary, boutique hotel. Built around four historic buildings along the banks of the Rio Grande, in the heart of downtown Laredo, La Posada Hotel was voted the #1 hotel in 2012 by the Texas Chamber of Commerce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your La Posada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Laredo
La Posada Hotel Laredo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing