We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff needs training” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Laredo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Laredo to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Laredo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Calle Del Norte, Laredo, TX 78041   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Laredo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copperas Cove, Texas
1 review
“staff needs training”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Had a great time with friends and family during a luncheon event to celebrate a baby shower plus my fourth military deployment. The food was great but the staff is in need of training. The last thing you want to do is to review the contract in front of your guests and have lip service given for simple requests.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clema O, General Manager at Embassy Suites Laredo, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the perceived lack of training. Clema Owen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    68
    21
    12
    9
See reviews for
93
27
10
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

I stayed here with my husband while he was in the area on business. Very nice and clean! Good service and great breakfast in the morning!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clema O, General Manager at Embassy Suites Laredo, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your "Great Hotel" comments! Please come back! Clema Owen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Yes, the Embassy Suites costs more than some other border crossing area lodging, but it guarantees a good night's sleep on a decent bed and peace and quiet. If you are driving into Mexico the next day, or arriving in Laredo after a day long drive from Mexico across the U.S. border, treat yourself to a stay here. Breakfast and happy hour included in price, so be sure to factor that in the "total." Great staff helped us pack the roof carrier and tie it down -- at 5 am in the morning!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clema O, General Manager at Embassy Suites Laredo, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Yea! Thank you for your comments! We appreciate your business! Clema Owen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

I arrived at the Embassy Suites, Laredo only to find that I had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite! Way overkill for 1 person, but WOW! This room was bigger than my apartment! :)

The pool area and fitness center looked very nice. The atrium area was also excellent. the entire hotel had a very new & clean feel to it, which I believe is very important.

The Internet connectivity was a little slow, but fast enough for emails, just not video.

I highly recommend this!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clema O, General Manager at Embassy Suites Laredo, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
YEA! Thank you for your comments! Clema Owen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

I stayed here for one night in late 2010. When reserving my room, the desk staff was kind and courteous on the phone. After arriving at the airport, I was greeted by the hotel van's driver with a smile and weaned great sightseeing advice from him. When I made my way into the lobby, I was immediately impressed by the grand six story atrium. I love the layout of the building; all 6 floors open to the massive open space that lets in so much outside light through the skylights. It was beautiful and lush. My corner room was on the back side of the hotel and I had a nice view of the surrounding area. The room itself was super clean, but I did notice some old stains on the walls in a couple of places. I heard from the van driver that this hotel was 5 years old almost exactly during my stay and that management is really kind, and that it's won several awards. I would give an award, too, if I could, because every single staff member I met was sincere and smiling and asking if I needed anything. The room service food was delicious, the breakfast was great. It was nice and quiet, minus the AC in the room which was a little loud. The suite had a sitting room with spacious work table and flat screen tv. The bedroom had plush pillows and comfy sheets and another flat screen (I read another post saying the tvs were still CRTs, but my room had flat screens, so I don't know...) There was a small kitchenette which had a fridge, microwave, sink, coffee service, etc. The bathroom was big and I wasn't tripping over myself to turn around as so often happens in hotels. Toiletries were medium quality. There is a mall right across the street, though I didn't go to it. There is a business center which I accessed and printed at for free. Overall, very clean, had all the required amenities plus some, and the fabulous staff really made this a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clema O, General Manager at Embassy Suites Laredo, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Oh, thank you! We think we are an "Oasis in the Desert!" too! Clema Owen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

There are no 4 star hotels in laredo but this comes closest by far. The 2 bedroom suites is great for my 2 kids and I, 3 beds, quiet, managers reception in evening with drinks, and large free breakfast with omelettes, tortillas, bacon, rolls, juices, pancakes, fruit, coffee, etc. The rooms are clean modern and quiet. I have stayed in fancier hotels, but this one is the best laredo has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clema O, General Manager at Embassy Suites Laredo, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments in Trip Advisor! Please return! Clema Owen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

The only drawback was the a/c in the room. I needed to run the fan all night to keep the temp constant.

The TVs are flat screen CRT TV, not LCD.

The front desk, bartender at the manager's reception, and breakfast folks were excellent.

Just check the map they give for the local area, it is way not to scale.

Onsite restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clema O, General Manager at Embassy Suites Laredo, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to respond to Trip Advisor. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay! Clema Owen, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Laredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Laredo

Address: 110 Calle Del Norte, Laredo, TX 78041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Laredo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Laredo
#3 Family Hotel in Laredo
#5 Business Hotel in Laredo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Laredo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located only 3 miles from Laredo International Airport, the Embassy Suites Laredo hotel is a short drive from historic downtown Laredo and the Mexican border. Enjoy the comforts of home and excellent Embassy Suites service at our hotel in Laredo, TX. Get some work done in your suite with high-speed internet access and appreciate plenty of room for business or to spend time with the family. Our two-room suites are designed with a private bedroom and a separate seating area with a sofa bed. Use the wet bar kitchen with a microwave and refrigerator to make a favorite snack while watching a movie on one of two flat-screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Embassy Suites Laredo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Laredo Hotel Laredo
Laredo Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Laredo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.