We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice new renovation, but noisy AC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Laredo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Laredo to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Laredo
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1006 West Calton Road, Laredo, TX 78041   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Laredo
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice new renovation, but noisy AC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was mostly very pleasantly surprised. My room was so newly renovated, I could still smell the paint. A very nice job with lots of nice touches.

My main gripe, and a big one, was that the AC was screechingly noisy. If it was a constant noise, I suppose I could bear it, but this thing screeched and squeaked every time it cycled on and off. After waking me up a few times, I finally turned it off. In March you can do that, no problem, but in Laredo, there's no way you can turn off the AC in say, July.

Overall, a pretty nice place for a good price, but if your AC is noisy, I strong recommend asking for another room right away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky224, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Laredo, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear unclecofie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed and appreciate our renovation. Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience with the a/c unit in your room. I want to you to know we are completed with the renovation that was underway during your stay with us, however repair/replacement of a/c units is still underway. Should you choose to stay with us again in the future, and we sincerely hope you do, I am confident that you will no longer encounter this issue.

Once again, thank you for your time and, and on behalf of myself and my staff, I sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Rocky Ramirez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    55
    20
    17
    6
See reviews for
53
15
11
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Miguel de Allende, MX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I've stayed here a couple of previous times, and always got a 1st floor room, which were fine for the money. They are booked tonight, and the only available rooms are on the 3rd and 4th floors. The upper floors are a bit of a labyrinth. The nearest stairwell to my room, (332), is only to be entered from the 3rd floor, and not the ground, requiring a more elaborate route thru the labyrinth. I've seen better mattresses in some of the more "economical" places I've stayed in the 2nd and 3rd world. My only other comment is that the desk clerk was unhelpful, and surly. Oh, and they now, apparently offer porn on their in-house cable system. All in all, the upper floors are a poor value, IMO. Say-La- vee...

Room Tip: Do not check into Room 332. The logistics of bringing your luggage to the room are daunting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky224, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Laredo, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Spike J,

Thank you for your candid and honest review of our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience. Anytime we fall short of meeting guest expectations, we feel it is important to take appropriate action to remedy any concerns that may arise.

I want to you to know we are completed with the renovation that was underway during your stay with us. I realize that the renovation caused inconveniences to guests such as yourself, but should you choose to return to us, and we sincerely hope you do, you will find that the difficulties you encountered with your room location are no longer a problem. We even have all new beds and carpeting in every room!

Once again, thank you for your time and, and on behalf of myself and my staff, I sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Rocky Ramirez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We got there and room was very expensive for the quality of room it was very dirty dog hair all over so we moved.rooms and it was no better hair in bathtub, pink degreaser in air conditioning unit that blew out and all they did was give me back part of my money after a huge inconvenience. We will never stay there again and dont recommend for anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky224, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Laredo, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear babygcass33,

Thank you for your candid and honest review of our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience. Anytime we fall short of meeting guest expectations, we feel it is important to take appropriate action to remedy any concerns that may arise.

I want to you to know we are addressing these issues with our staff, as to avoid any issues in the future. You may also be pleased to know we are anticipating a much welcome renovation in the very near future. I am confident you will enjoy the final result.

Once again, thank you for your time and, and on behalf of myself and my staff, I sincerely hope that we will have another opportuntiyy to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Rocky Ramirez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This was my third time to stay at this particular Red Roof and like the previous times it was pleasant and with no major complaints. Upon checking into room I noticed a bloody tissue in the ice bucket and upon showing the manager he apologized and took $20 off that nights stay. Rooms are updated with within easy walking distance of many eating establishments. The front desk clerks are not the friendliest but it may be an language barrier thing. I plan to stay here whenever my business brings me back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky224, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Laredo, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear harryscards,

Thank you so very much for your lovely review. We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our goal to make sure that we provide our guest with a clean room at an affordable price. Your comment is very much appreciated and we look forward in welcoming you back on your next visit.

Again, our sincerest thanks.

Rocky Ramirez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabot
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

people here are not friendly, and you will find a few roaches running around. my company forced us to stay here until we complained enough to get moved to a little cleaner hotel. they do not offer any breakfast and still charge higher rates than most. the bedding is hard and uncomfortable. the room is clean except for the bugs. the tvs are small and are not flat screens. remove all valuables from your vehicle because the hotel does not have security but every other buisness in the area does.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky224, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Laredo, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear JT1993,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience.

Please contact me directly, as I would like to make sure this review was intended for my hotel. I noticed on your review you stated that we do not have flat screen TV's or overnight security. This property actually had flat screen LCD TV's installed in all rooms as of December 2011. Your review states you stayed in February of this year. We also have overnight security 7 days a week. I suspect you may be confusing us with another location, but I just want to make sure. If we did in fact fall short in meeting your expectations, then I truly apologize and will take all steps neccesary to remedy the issues.

Thank you for your time and, and on behalf of myself and my staff, I sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Rocky Ramirez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

next time ill pay some 20 more dollars and stay on a holiday inn i found my room with no AC working, the tv was too far from the bed, the toilet seat was burn with a cigarrete apparently it was just like a cheap hotel, but at 80dolars / day not to cheap actually...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky224, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Laredo, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear JSalazar92,

Thank you for your candid and honest review of our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience.

Please know that it is our goal to make every guests experience an enjoyable one, and I am deeply sorry that we fell short in this instance. I have reviewed the maintenance records of your room and have shared your experience with all of our staff so that we may avoid any occurences like this in the future.

Thank you for your time and, and on behalf of myself and my staff, I sincerely hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,
Rocky Ramirez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoover, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

the 1 thing i hate to find in a room is hair. especially the bathroom. there was hair in the floor,bathtub,around the sink area. NASTY!! had to use a hand towel and cleant he sink before i could use it. the beds were fair, the carpet needs cleaning. when i checked in the front desk cleark acted as if she would have prefered me to stay at a different hotel, VERY UNPROFESSIONAL! uncertain how you build a reporte with guest by being careless and uninviting.
this could be a nice hotel, if given the time and effort to clean and sanitize by house keeping. the staff was made to understand that attitude IS a deal breaker, period.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky224, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Laredo, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Todd S,

Thank you for your candid and honest review of our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience. I can assure you that I will be reviewing the details of your stay and coaching our staff on the issues that you have brought to our attention. It is our goal to make every guests experience an enjoyable one, and I am deeply sorry that we fell short in this instance.

Thank you for your time and, and on behalf of myself and my staff, I sincerely hope that we will have another opportuntiyy to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Rocky Ramirez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Laredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Laredo

Address: 1006 West Calton Road, Laredo, TX 78041
Location: United States > Texas > Laredo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Laredo
#3 Business Hotel in Laredo
#6 Family Hotel in Laredo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Laredo 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Laredo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laredo Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Laredo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.