We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, central location, scary neighborhood lurking behind it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Laredo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Laredo to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Laredo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2410 Santa Ursula Avenue, Laredo, TX 78040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Laredo
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, central location, scary neighborhood lurking behind it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is a pretty decent Courtyard - nothing fantastic, but no complaints either. I was lucky enough to get one of the few rooms with a tiny balcony which i enjoyed, mostly. I did almost plunge to my death when two pigeons flew up from their roosts in the corner and scared me out of my skin, and the latch did fall closed on one memorable occasion, briefly locking me out on the balcony. Before I rapelled down the five floors using only my belt and bootlaces, I gave a hysteria-fueled yank that popped it open, but be cautious and leave the sliding doors open. The Starbucks in the lobby does breakfast and dinner only; lunch is available for the staff, but not guests, which I thought was interesting. Now, a word or ten about the area...I ventured out on foot to walk two blocks to a gas station. Upon doing so, I felt an immediate urge to either arm myself or return posthaste to the hotel. Not being a quitter, I forged on, braving panhandlers and ladies of questionable virtue and/or gender (it was 2pm, in case you were wondering why I was out at midnight.), and did not get mugged. I highly recommend sticking to vehicular transportation...only seemed really bad on foot, close to nature, so to speak. Apart from that small issue, the location, adjacent to I-35, is easy to get around from and parking was fine. I would stay here if I return to Laredo.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony...don't see many of those these days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    7
    9
    1
See reviews for
19
6
2
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

I choose Marriott for solid comfort and atmosphere for the price. This property has been maintained and felt inviting and clean. Where can you stay under $85 and feel you're not sacrificing? Staff was attentive and friendly. Room was well appointed and clean. The location is convenient. I felt safe for myself and my vehicle. My only complaint is that the wifi was weak--the iPad performed sluggishly. Nevertheless, my stay was fine and I'd book here again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

I was a little surprised, and concerned, by some of the negative comments here before I checked in on a Sunday afternoon. Moments later --really, seconds-- I was just fine. This is a normal, current-format upgraded Courtyard. Yes, it's parking is a little tight; no my window doesn't have a view. Still, I'm thinking the negative review was based on prejudice, not fact.

The hotel is completely upgraded; my standard room --less than $100 on my business rate -- is the current format, plent of pictures, dark wood furniture, comfortable bed and flashy linen. The bath was clean and upgraded. Even the AC was turned on at 100 degrees --were they expecting me? The greeting implied the same: had I been in Laredo before? Did I know my way around? Was my business going to expand here? I LOVE those kinds of questions: I found a carwash, used suggestions for dinner and a map, and yes I will be expanding my national chain here.

You are on the border here, folks. That means a blend of commerce and guests: those Mexican national guests are spending money here, tax dollars. Yes, sometimes it gets a little festive --I love that about the Valley! There's a bar (yes, the bartender is seemingly eleven years old, don't order a Manhattan unless it's a joke) and the standard up-to-date lobby. Great rates at an accessible, freeway-side hotel. Marriott obviously appreciates this location, so should you.

Room Tip: The address on "Santa Ursula" is the service road of I-35.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

They have a speedy check-in and sell breakfast for a nominal fee. Their pool is nice to relax in, but tends to have bee's linger by the hot tub.

However the beds are comfortable and one room fit a total of 6 (3 adults and 3 kids). For under 100.00 a night.

Room Tip: if you check in before 12pm you will be billed for two nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Lobby could be nice except for the filthy carpeting and strange layout. Parking is not secure. Rooms dirty, carpeting filthy, Internet bairly works and is so slow I just shut off my laptop and forgot about even trying any more. Same for the cable tv, change a channel and wait around 10 seconds to see if the channel even comes on, some didn't. Overpriced for all of this and not worth going back to ever...And I go through Laredo regularly...

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Hotel was very nice on the inside, in keeping with all of the Courtyard renovations. Staff was helpful and friendly. There is absolutely nothing around the hotel though. If you want a restaurant, go about 3 miles north and you'll hit all kinds of options. If you're just stopping before you go over the border, this would be a good place to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that face away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This hotel is a very nice and clean hotel. The staff is very accomodating. I went on a business trip for 3 days and it was very comfortable. The king size bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The morning breakfast is standard, (i.e. Eggs, bacon, hash browns, yogurt, granola, etc). During the evening, you also get a free alcoholic beverage. The on-site restaurant is not pricey at all. I ordered a hamburger and fries one night and it was a flat $5.00. The only downside was that during my stay, the internet service was extremely slow. The business center is in the public lobby, but the staff are very acomodating when faxing documents, which is behind the staff counter. And the kicker was that they checked me in at noon, when they technically didn't have to check me in until 3:00 pm. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laredo hotels
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Laredo
Red Roof Inn Laredo
#4 of 37 in Laredo
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Laredo Del Mar
4.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Laredo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Laredo at Mall del Norte
2.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Laredo
2.5 mi away
Family Garden Inn
Family Garden Inn
#12 of 37 in Laredo
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Laredo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Laredo

Address: 2410 Santa Ursula Avenue, Laredo, TX 78040
Location: United States > Texas > Laredo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Laredo
#7 Family Hotel in Laredo
#9 Business Hotel in Laredo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Laredo 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Laredo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Laredo Hotel Laredo
Courtyard Laredo
Laredo Marriott
Laredo Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Laredo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.