We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort & Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amerik Suites Laredo Behind Mall Del Norte

Save Saved
You added Amerik Suites Laredo Behind Mall Del Norte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amerik Suites Laredo Behind Mall Del Norte
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6551 Metro Court, Behind Mall Del Norte, Laredo, TX 78045   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$74 (USD)
Ranked #14 of 35 hotels in Laredo
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
“Comfort & Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff went to all ends to satisfy my family & comfort was the feeling my family received at this hotel the beds were comfortable, clean. Great Location, I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Laredo,Texas

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Amerik Suites Laredo Behind Mall Del Norte, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We have the competitive price flexibility of a non-brand hotel property, which enable us to transfer our otherwise huge franchise fee savings to our guests' wallets!

Thank you for choosing Amerik Suites Hotel Behind Mall Del Norte as your preferred hospitality server and thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    29
    9
    13
    26
See reviews for
31
19
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Good: Location. The hotel is near a nice mall, shopping centers, and restaurants and is in a decent area of town. The beds were comfortable and seemed clean. The front desk staff and maintenance man we dealt with were polite and helpful for the most part. We liked the cover over the pool area.

Fair: The room. The refridgerator did not work. The front desk clerk wasn't sure what to do since the hotel had no other rooms. I suggested they fix it or send a replacement. The replacement was made within a reasonable amount of time. There was a light out in the bathroom. The front desk clerk (manager?) was shocked. The bulb was replaced within a reasonable amount of time. Housekeeping left wet and dirty towels on the floor and we had to exchange for clean towels ourselves the first day. On the second day housekeeping did take the dirty towels and replaced with clean towels within a couple of hours. The drawers were dirty and the room had a strange odor that improved when we cranked up the air conditioner.

Fair: The property itself. True, there are ice machines on each floor, but only a couple of them actually worked. The stairwells were dirty like they hadn't been vacuumed in a while. The automatic handicap front entry door did not work. The side "security doors" that were appear to require a room key actually don't. They open without one. The single elevator is quite slow. The lobby and elevator floors were wet and very slippery from pool traffic. The man at the front desk had no solution to offer (other than maybe being willing to call 911 if someone fell and cracked his or her head open). Some rubber mats would solve that problem and are cheaper than a lawsuit. The BBQ grills for rent were in such bad shape that we changed our plans and chose not to use them. The housekeeper we came in contact with spoke no English and we couldn't communicate with her.

Fair to Poor: The breakfast. The first day there was only cereal, cheap muffins, toast, and waffles. The only fresh fruit was tiny apples. When asked about the "hot entree" advertised, the lady in the kitchen told one of the Spanish-speaking guests that she was told to only put out continental breakfast that day. Perhaps this was because the hotel was at capacity and management was trying to save money? The second day there were scrambled eggs and biscuits and gravy offered, but only to those who were fortunate to get there at the crack of dawn. The food was not replenished even though there were lines of people waiting and it was within the breakfast hours. There were never bagels or danishes as advertised. The juice machine did not work. The coffee was so weak that we ended up going to the nearby gas station to get a decent cup. The lone garbage can in the breakfast area was always overflowing. They need to either only advertise what they are willing to offer or live up to what they promise.

Bottom line: If the hotel chooses to run its property this way, then it should lower its rates so guests will truly feel like they get what they pay for. We did not and would only stay there again if there were no other options in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Amerik Suites Laredo Behind Mall Del Norte, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We thank you very much for your comments and compliments as it helps us to better our services.

Summer vacation dates for June, July, & August in both Mexico and America are in full blast and we have employees and management crew working overtime and around the clock. We are a border-city based hotel and get high demands from both countries.

We apologize if we are not meeting your expectations as we should, and believe me we are working hard on keeping up with such high demand.

Being a non-franchise hotel, it gives us the ability to be more flexible on our services like early bird check-in and summer prices as well.

We thank you once again for your constant and continued support in helping to enhance our guest satisfaction for your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Upon arriving to Amerik Suites it was very nice, then as the week progressed we were continuously greeted with the rude receptionist at night. The receptionist talked rudely over me when I was asking why the hot tub heater continuously did not work at the hotel. The man said that we have to "request" for it to be turned on. So the following day we called and asked for it to be turned on and when we went to the hot tub it was freezing cold. The breakfast at the hotel is plane and simple. If your planning on staying at a hotel for longer then a week I would pick a different hotel with a better breakfast selection because they served the same exact thing everyday for for our stay. Even when we tried to check in for our reservation we had problems. Since we were here on a business trip we did not pay for the room, and the company did. So when we went to check in the woman said that she did not see our reservation when we have the receipt and conformation number that the room had been paid for. The woman then told me to call the agency which the room was booked that took me over 20 ministers of being on hold for the travel agency to call the hotel and confirm that the reservation was always there. The staff are extremely rude! They do not listen to the customer when it comes to room service, using the pool, or even trying to check into your reservation. I would never stay at this hotel again due to the poor customer service. It was a waste of money and I expected a lot more from this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Amerik Suites Laredo Behind Mall Del Norte, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Our front desk remembers this guest very clearly since she cursed at our front desk when trying to help her with her reservation.

The issue was that the customer was giving the wrong name for the reservation! That is why our front desk at the time could not locate the reservation. All that time it was under her boyfriends name since he was the one on business and the company had paid for his reservation.

We explained that the reason we couldn't find the reservation was because she was giving her name and no reservation existed under her name. She didn't understand and was still being extremely rude and cursing like a sailor. Her boyfriend even apologized to our front desk for her girlfriends actions.

As far as the other accusations, we believe we offer a good breakfast since it consist of hot potatoes, hot eggs, hot biscuits, waffles, three option cereal, yogurt, bagels, toast, fruit (bananas or apples), danish, muffins, coffee and orange juice. Compared to other hotels that offer only a cold breakfast or others that offer no breakfast.

Thank you for your continued support!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San An
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our stay was only for one night & we booked here because it was inexpensive, despite less than average reviews. I must say that it was much nicer than anticipated. Amenities include a fridge, microwave, coffee maker & blow dryer. Also iron & ironing board upon request. The bedding was much more comfortable than expected. The service was decent & regret not having tried the complimentary breakfast. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Only issue when booking was that the only option given was 1 king size bed. Upon arrival they change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Amerik Suites Laredo Behind Mall Del Norte, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We have the low-price flexibility of a non-brand/flag hotel, which enable us to transfer our non-franchise fee savings to our customers wallets!

Thank you for choosing Amerik Suites Hotel Behind Mall Del Norte as your preferred hospitality server and thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed the night . It was great and rooms were clean they had a pool for guest to swim and relax. The breakfast was delicious. Couldn't ask for more:) The staff was friendly . I'm a very picky person when it comes to hotels. This hotel met my standards. The price was right too

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Amerik Suites Laredo Behind Mall Del Norte, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
We have the low-price flexibility of a non-brand/flag hotel, which enable us to transfer our non-franchise fee savings to our customers wallets!

Thank you for choosing Amerik Suites Hotel Behind Mall Del Norte as your preferred hospitality server and thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked two rooms, side by side, two weeks in advance. Checked in and rooms were on different floors. We were charged extra for one of the rooms when they were the exact same floor plan. When we spoke to manager (Julia/Gia?) about the extra charge, she made all sorts of excuses. We had to go out of our way, to find our hotel confirmation, which by the way, had to be requested 3 times before they sent it by email. Hotels aren't supposed to make excuses! No apology was given by manager. The hotel is shabby and the rooms need a good cleaning. I lifted the pillow and found small hairs on the 'clean' linen. The bathroom had one towel! No linens for the pull out sofa and no iron despite the room having an ironing board. All in all, the hotel stay was horrible. Service was not friendly and the rooms were nothing to rave about. Find elsewhere to stay for the price they are charging.

Room Tip: Do not stay here...go elsewhere in all honesty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Amerik Suites Laredo Behind Mall Del Norte, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. However, I would like to clarify some points that where made in this review. Because of the George Washington birthday celebrations, all hotels in Laredo, TX where extremely busy and full. There was little to none availability all over Laredo.

Her first suite was reserved early when rates where low. Her second suite was reserved very close to arrival date when rates where higher than normal due to our extremely low limited availability. However, she did not specify that she had an already existing reservation, nonetheless that she wanted them side by side.

So at check in time, it was then that she realized of the price difference and complained to our front desk. Our front desk was a little confused at first, but later realized what happen and she immediately submitted her refund approval. By the next day, her refund processed successfully and everything was cleared out. We weren't told of any other issue during her stay and leads me to believe that possibly was still upset of price difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Reserved a room online for what we knew would be a busy Saturday night. Arrived at 11:30 at night after 14 hours in the car and were told that, although my reservation online went through and I had a confirmation number, that they had no rooms. In fact no rooms in the entire town and not for at least a 2 hour drive away. Note: booked on their site and not a third party site. Had to sleep in our car! Do not give them your business!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmeriKSUITESLaredo, Director of Sales at Amerik Suites Laredo Behind Mall Del Norte, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
The hotel policy states that when hotel is above 95% in occupancy, after 12:00 am midnight, a reservation is automatically cancelled or considered as a no show by automatic computerized system.

This is in place in many hotels around the U.S because of past experiences like people desperately looking for a room and they get denied because someone has a reservation guarded but then they are no show no call, and other guest could've stayed in room. This policy clearly explained and stated in confirmation email of reservation.

Guest attempted to check in after 12:00 am.

Normally, if occupancy is less than 95%, the system automatically reinstates the cancelled reservation in order to avoid inconvenience to the guest.

Thank you for your comprehension and support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amerik Suites Laredo Behind Mall Del Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amerik Suites Laredo Behind Mall Del Norte

Address: 6551 Metro Court, Behind Mall Del Norte, Laredo, TX 78045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Laredo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 hotels in Laredo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amerik Suites Laredo Behind Mall Del Norte 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Amerik Suites Laredo Behind Mall Del Norte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amerik Suites Laredo Behind Mall Del Norte Hotel Laredo
Laredo Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amerik Suites Laredo Behind Mall Del Norte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.