We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Resurgence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Resurgence to your Saves list
The Resurgence
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   574 Riwaka Valley Road, Riwaka 7198, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Riwaka B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for two nights having booked at the last minute. The welcome we were given by Peter and Clare was wonderful. We booked the half board option and thoroughly enjoyed both the aperitifs on the balcony meeting and talking to our fellow guests. The meal that Clare prepared was superb greatly enhanced by the dinner table conversation with other guests.
Our room was very comfortable and looked out onto the beautiful country side surrounding the lodge.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Resurgance and hope to visit again one day.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
115
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westhampton, Massachusetts, Usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Resugence for three nights in the bush lodge suites. The accommodations were perfect-comfortable bed, plenty of room to sit in the living areas or out on the deck, kitchens were very well appointed (including a daily loaf of Clare's homemade bread), bathroom was luxurious. Peter and Clare were very friendly and accommodating. Clare is a fantastic gourmet cook and the evening meals were splendid in every way. There is a lovely short walk to the headwaters of the Rawaka River, which is a magical place. The Abel Tasman Park is a 10-15 min drive. We took a water taxi to Awaroa and hiked two stops back and were picked up again but water taxi for the trip back to our car...the trip was amazing. We highly recommend this lodge...the morning bird chorus will knock your socks off!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Location is lovely, seems to be miles from anywhere, with a narrow windy track to get to the main house. We stayed in the main house. The room was very large and comfortable, with all the amenities you need except no aircon. I am sure most of the time they don't need it, but it happens when we were there it was very warm and the room was just too hot to be comfortable. There was a ceiling fan which helped. As the place is so far out in the sticks it makes sense too eat there and the food was pretty good. We enjoyed chatting with other guests from Sweden, France, etc. Hosts are English and were very accommodating.The boat trip they recommended for us was great.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent 2 days in this lodge,unforgettable.
It is extreme well located,in the middle of the bush and close to a beautiful valley.
The chalet is very comfortable ,in an "eco-design".
We had a warm welcome from the hosts and the dinner they organized for all guests is a great moment:excellent cooking and warm atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Beautiful location right next to the Resurgence--a river springing straight out of a nearby mountain. Must hike to it. Claire is an excellent chef and it was really fun eating with the other guests from all over the world. Peter couldn't be nicer, helping me with my Internet when it wasn't working. Room was spotless and so cozy.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

My partner and I initially booked a 2 night stay but the drive through the hills to get to the hotel was so beautiful and serene we decided to extend our stay to 5 nights by the time we got to the reception. Clare and Peter are perfect hosts and you will immediately feel welcome. They are experts in the area and gave us great advice on things to do and see that are not as touristy. The rooms are very spacious, spotless and the setting is breathtaking. I highly recommend dining with the guests as you will meet some interesting people. It was the perfect ending to our 2 week New Zealand trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero,FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and I just had the most wonderful 3 night stay at The lodge with
Peter and Clare....the setting is breathtaking and the birds make you feel like
you are in an aviary...Breakfast and dinner scrumptious and the friends we
made there were so lovely. There are 4 walking paths in and around the
property to keep you close to nature, and road bikes are fun too! Definitely
don't miss visiting The Resurgence cave where the water begins to flow
from under the mountain...magical! (And close by) Our room in the Main
Lodge was perfect...as are Clare and Peter...we will always treasure our
visit with you both! Kim & Jim

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resurgence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resurgence

Address: 574 Riwaka Valley Road, Riwaka 7198, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Riwaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Riwaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resurgence 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the world's 25 best luxury eco-lodges (National Geographic Traveler 2013), The Resurgence is set in 50 acres of tranquil wilderness with 5km of bush tracks. Surrounded by birds, this relaxed and friendly Lodge is a perfect base for exploring the Nelson Region. Select Boutique Lodge Rooms or self-contained Bush Suites on Dinner B&B or self-contained basis. Dinner is a highlight with 4-course gourmet farm-to-table dining showcasing Nelson wine and produce. The Resurgence is the closest 5-star lodge to the Abel Tasman National Park and also offers easy day trips to Golden Bay, Kahurangi National Park or Nelson art studios and wineries. Let your well-travelled hosts help you plan activities such as kayaking, hikes and birding trips to winery and art tours. This child-free, smoke free resort with pool, spa and massage therapies is accessible by road, 45 minutes from Nelson airport. Ideal for honeymoons and for active couples who enjoy good food and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Resurgence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resurgence Hotel Kairuru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resurgence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.