We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More eco, less luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Resurgence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Resurgence to your Saves list
The Resurgence
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   574 Riwaka Valley Road, Riwaka 7198, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Riwaka B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“More eco, less luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I struggle to best describe our experience as overall it was very pleasant – beautiful setting in the hilly, green, quiet corner of New Zealand close to the wonderful Abel Tasman park, friendly hosts, lovely afternoons on the porch with the glass of local wine, nothing to do and nowhere to rush to.
But few things linger in memory that the hosts should consider to make the future travellers experience even more pleasant. Firstly, despite common preconceptions, sometimes it gets really hot in New Zealand and when we were there and the dial reached a very humid 28 degrees, the cabins are really, really stuffy with no air circulation and a fan that just does not cope with the heat. We were told that in the eco lodge setting, the air conditioning may seem a little too right wing and we agree but why not take advantage of the natural flow of the air rather than having all windows firmly bolted down? That looks like a bit of a cost saving during building that is not terribly environmentally friendly?
Secondly, a home-made bread is a lovely touch but most of home-made breads are great on the day they are baked and this one is delivered on the afternoon of the day before breakfast – it looks nice but taste like a heavy damper. Maybe the bread is meant to be brick heavy but if that is the case, maybe not every day?
Finally, the lodge offers multitude of services on its very well designed website but we had found that organising massage was sufficiently complicated that we did not bother in the end and when asked about food choices on the Abel Tasman boat we were directed to go shopping at the local supermarket (the lodge offers picnic hampers but that was not suggested – we did go to the supermarket). Travellers hoping for a luxury experience would hope that the massage booking would be breezy (as would the temperature in the cabin), ideally even before you arrive and the picnic hamper would be easier to organise than the supermarket. Otherwise it is very eco but less luxury

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resurgence, Owner at The Resurgence, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
I am sorry that we fell short of delivering the perfect experience for you. Our style is different to other 'luxury' Bed & Breakfasts. We are set in 50 acres with abundant bird-life, hikes and hand-crafted suites that are very thoughtful of the things that travellers need - wifi, washing, herbs, gladwrap etc etc but we don't have 42" TVs and aircon or fancy linen that cannot be washed for each guest. We are assessed annually by Qualmark and score highly in the 5 star category.

I will certainly take on board the comments about ventillation as we have had more hot days than usual this summer. We do provide 2 fans for each chalet and have full length screens on the front door plus bathroom window to allow for air exchange but we will add screens to one more window in the main living area to assist AND look at putting a passive fan in the ceiling to allow hot air to escape upwards - we have done this in all the other rooms and it has helped tremendously. During the day, our cleaners are instructed to close curtains and blinds to prevent heat build up, at night it is typically cool in our area, so the hot nights were unusual for us.

We usually get rave reviews for the brown bread but we recognise that we are all different and offer soy, gluten free, different spread etc so please do just ask and we will happily swap the standard hamper items to other items such as a softer white loaf that I make as picnic bread - or come up to the lodge for a full service breakfast which is available to any of our guests.

Massages, you were just unlucky. I have 3 masseuses on call and on the day you came they were all fully booked which is unusual. We recommend that you call ahead to avoid disappointment. January is busy and the masseuses service several lodges.

As hosts we aim to please everyone and we are always deeply saddened when someone does not have a perfect experience and we are unable to make amends before you depart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
115
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Resurgence exceeded our already high expectations for a spacious, stand-alone bush lodge, which featured a large bedroom; a large bathroom with both tub and shower; a separate sitting area; a fully equipped kitchen; and a large deck to admire the surrounding rolling terrain. Peter and Clair anticipated a traveler's every need. We thoroughly enjoyed our six-day stay at The Resurgence and look forward to a return trip to continue our hiking in the greater Abel Tasman area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lonely Lake bush lodge and would certainly request it for a future trip. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed for three nights at this superb property, which was one of the highlights of our trip. We loved our beautifully appointed lodge, the location with its delightful views, the swimming pool, the nightly dinner parties - where the delicious food was matched by great wines and good conversation - and the fact we were near to the activities available in Abel Tasman National Park. Clare and Peter were professional, knowledgeable and kind hosts and we would certainly recommend The Resurgence.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just a wonderful place. We stayed for four nights. Loved the views, our chalet, our breakfast in our room, the four-course dinners! Clare and Peter are terrific hosts. Had a great time dining (and wining) with other guests and feasting on Clare and Peter's food. (They are amazing chefs!). A great place to stay while exploring the Abel Tasman and Golden Bay areas. You just feel, well, spoiled, staying there. Pretty perfect in every way!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I think when you stay at a place with a heated mirror so that a steamy shower doesn't hamper post-shower activities... that about says it all about attention to detail!! Not only is the Resurgence in an incredibly beautiful valley, it is perfect in every way. The chalets are wonderfully appointed with do-it-yourself breakfasts (or you can go up to the lodge for cooked ones) of freshly baked breads, fresh fruits, tons of yogurt, museli, yummy NZ BUTTER!!, juices, etc. There is a complete kitchen if you are so inclined and a BBQ grill on the deck .... but then you would miss the scrumptious dinners!! Every evening our hosts Clare and Peter share wine with their guests and create a lively atmosphere of sharing stories and recounting the day's adventures. It is a magical place to stay both for the time there and for the wonderful things to do in the area, from hikes, caves and the beautiful countryside.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

What an amazing place! We stayed for 5 nights in one of the lodges and it was simply perfect. The lodges are comfortable and extremely well kitted out - especially if you like cooking. We have fabulous memories of cooking great meals on the barbecue on the veranda and basking in the evening sun whilst enjoying the glorious views and listening to the birdsong. Our hosts, Clare and Peter, were friendly and helpful and their recommendations were well worth following. The location of the lodge is perfect for walking and sailing in the Abel Tasman and Kahurangi National Parks. This is a gem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights in one of the beautiful lodges. The privacy and comfort of the lodges makes them ideal for anyone wishing to get away from it all but still have the benefits of eating at the hotel - as the food is amazing. Clare and Peter are excellent hosts, able to provide advice on all things local so no need to worry about missing out on any of the best trips or top spots to visit. Even strolling around the extensive grounds is a pure delight. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take time to walk around the site and follow the marked tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resurgence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resurgence

Address: 574 Riwaka Valley Road, Riwaka 7198, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Riwaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Riwaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resurgence 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the world's 25 best luxury eco-lodges (National Geographic Traveler 2013), The Resurgence is set in 50 acres of tranquil wilderness with 5km of bush tracks. Surrounded by birds, this relaxed and friendly Lodge is a perfect base for exploring the Nelson Region. Select Boutique Lodge Rooms or self-contained Bush Suites on Dinner B&B or self-contained basis. Dinner is a highlight with 4-course gourmet farm-to-table dining showcasing Nelson wine and produce. The Resurgence is the closest 5-star lodge to the Abel Tasman National Park and also offers easy day trips to Golden Bay, Kahurangi National Park or Nelson art studios and wineries. Let your well-travelled hosts help you plan activities such as kayaking, hikes and birding trips to winery and art tours. This child-free, smoke free resort with pool, spa and massage therapies is accessible by road, 45 minutes from Nelson airport. Ideal for honeymoons and for active couples who enjoy good food and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Resurgence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resurgence Hotel Kairuru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resurgence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.