We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TLC In Peaceful Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Resurgence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Resurgence to your Saves list
The Resurgence
5.0 of 5 Inn   |   574 Riwaka Valley Road, Riwaka 7198, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Riwaka B&B and Inns
Chevy Chase, MD
1 review
“TLC In Peaceful Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Simply put, The Resurgence has it all. Gorgeous setting, excellent location easily accessible to Abel Tasman and Golden Bay, lovely rooms, a beautiful lodge, 5 star gourmet cuisine, and in Peter and Clare the most warm, gracious and knowledgeable hosts imaginable. Hands down, the best place we stayed in our month in NZ Dec. 2011-Jan-2012. And did I mention the hot tub which is great after a few days of kayaking?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
114
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

Great stay. Peter and Clare are very welcoming, provide great quality food and service and have a fabulous property.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed for two nights and loved the quiet beauty of Resurgence. Claire and Peter were welcoming hosts to this 5.5 acre island of serenity near the madness that can be Abel Tasman. We had the Kahurangi Point Bush Lodge, which was a lovely, very private unit. There was a bedroom and bath upstairs, and a living room area with fireplace, small dining table, and kitchen downstairs. Attached to the downstairs was a deck with table and chairs overlooking the wild bush and the river valley. We would recommend this unit highly. In addition to several bush lodges, there were bush chalets (more compact), and rooms in the main lodge. There was a library (where you could access WiFi), pool, and hot tub up at the main lodge, which is where the dinners were served.

We had a very enjoyable dinner at the lodge one of our 2 nights. We met the other guests and visited with them and Claire and Peter over canapés and champagne. Claire is a very good chef, and Peter pitched in with the serving. We had a 4-course meal of very tasty food with generous serving sizes. Wine could be purchased at very reasonable prices. There was lots of good conversation with the other guests and the hosts: before, during and after the meal, moving to the couches for coffee/tea.

One word of caution. Get good directions before you go. We counted on the rental car GPS getting us there, but our unit could not find either the property or even the road it was on. It is really "away from it all," which is what we loved about it, so do get good directions.

There are walking trails through the property, hewed out by the hosts, and the birdlife is amazing. We were particularly enchanted by the Tui. This is a beautiful dark bird with an iridescent sheen to its feathers and a small white tuft of feathers on its chest. There were a couple that hung out just below our deck feeding and talking to each other. They can make the most incredible noises - songs, yes, but clicks and clacks and really eerie sounds.

The hosts were very helpful in giving us directions to our cruise on the Abel Tasman. We went with Rod Stuart and Abel Tasman Cruises, who we recommend very highly. We will review that trip separately.

All in all, Resurgence is a great place to enjoy the stunning beauty of the area away from the crowds that come with the Abel Tasman!

Room Tip: We loved the Bush Lodges, and thought the Kahurangi Point was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed here for three nights while exploring Abel Tasman on our honeymoon. The lodge cabin was a wonderful and private place to stay. The lodge we stayed in was beautifully appointed with stunning views across the valley. We dined at the Resurgence on our first night. Claire's cooking is excellent and the meal a highlight of our stay here. For the other two nights we used the BBQ at the lodge and ate outside enjoying the great surroundings. We made use of the spa pool and swimming pool despite the mixed weather. We would definitely return given the chance!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed in this place for 3 nights in Jan 2012 and we liked it a lot. The lodges are spacious and the environment is stunningly beautiful. Claire and Peter are very friendly hosts and trying to fullfil all your wishes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed three nights at this wonderful place. The cabin was luxury and met all our expectations. Our hosts were very helpful and always available for recommendations. Dinner was served in nice atmosphere. We had wonderful days and would return any time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I'll join the many reviewers calling The Resurgence a highlight on their South Island vacation; I joined TripAdvisor solely to inform people who might have overlooked it during their planning process, as I almost did.

The setting is among the most visually stunning in New Zealand -- so green, lush, varied and alive you feel you must be dreaming. You don't see any other man-made structures from The Resurgence. Great as the glacier and Queenstown areas are, they can look like Tahoe or Montana. The hills of Moteueka and Abel Tasman not only look but also smell and feel like nowhere else.

Though it's a B&B because guests have the option of eating dinner in the main house together, couples can get a private cabin at the Resurgence. Each is supplied with fresh baked bread and homemade jam every day. The cabins have extremely comfortable beds, kitchens, a patio or deck and a DVD player.

Now about that dinner. I'm perhaps like a lot of fussy young urban Americans in that I strongly prefer to chose my meal contents and company, and thus generally avoid b&b dining. If you do too, make an exception for the Resurgence. Claire is a French-trained chef who happily adjusts to restrictions and preferences, while Peter is expert on local wines. They are very interesting people and professional hosts who skillfully manage dinner conversations, no matter who shows up. We ate in acclaimed restaurants all over the South Island, and none topped our two Resurgence dinners -- not on total experience and definitely not on food alone (NZ is long on fresh ingredients and short on creative chefs who can knock you out with them).

If you're challenged by a tight itinerary, note that you can check off a few activities while staying at the Resurgence. The Nelson wine region is an hour away and underrated in the shadow of Marlborough; Abel Tasman Park is great for kayaking and hiking -- blackflies are not a problem at all, and it's sunnier, compared to the West Coast. Even just stargazing and birdwatching around the Resurgence can inspire childlike glee.

I'll add some quibbles so you know I'm not a plant: I found the towels scratchy, and wi-fi in the cabin instead of just the main house would have been more convenient.

If you've got high culinary standards and want some serenity to complement the South Island's beauty, you should book at least a couple of nights at The Resurgence.

Room Tip: All the private cabins are luxury-resort level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resurgence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resurgence

Address: 574 Riwaka Valley Road, Riwaka 7198, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Riwaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Riwaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Resurgence 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted one of the world's 25 best luxury eco-lodges (National Geographic Traveler 2013), The Resurgence is set in 50 acres of tranquil wilderness with 5km of bush tracks. Surrounded by birds, this relaxed and friendly Lodge is a perfect base for exploring the Nelson Region. Select Boutique Lodge Rooms or self-contained Bush Suites on Dinner B&B or self-contained basis. Dinner is a highlight with 4-course gourmet farm-to-table dining showcasing Nelson wine and produce. The Resurgence is the closest 5-star lodge to the Abel Tasman National Park and also offers easy day trips to Golden Bay, Kahurangi National Park or Nelson art studios and wineries. Let your well-travelled hosts help you plan activities such as kayaking, hikes and birding trips to winery and art tours. This child-free, smoke free resort with pool, spa and massage therapies is accessible by road, 45 minutes from Nelson airport. Ideal for honeymoons and for active couples who enjoy good food and nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Resurgence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Resurgence Hotel Kairuru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resurgence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.