We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tasman Bay B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riwaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tasman Bay B&B
Save
You added Tasman Bay B&B to your Saves list
54 Wharf Road | Riwaka R.D.3 Motueka, Riwaka 7198, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Riwaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Pauline and John were great hosts and have a lovely home by the sea. It is especially beautiful at high tide when the water comes in. All of us were impressed by the cleanliness and thoroughly enjoyed Pauline's delicious homemade bread, muffins, cookies and brownies. They helped us out with things to do in the area and we ended up having a good kayaking and walking experience in Abel Tasman. It is a short drive to the city center and about 20 mins to the entry point of the national park.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

What can I say that hasn't been said already? If they treat all their visitors as well as they made us instantly feel part of their fantastic home, Pauline and John must have one of the fastest growing families in New Zealand!

This really is a home from home. In our two days and nights at Tasman Bay we honestly felt part of their world; from the sociable home baked breakfasts to the early evening conversations when our hosts clearly showed their genuine interest in us, our trip and our life half a world away. They have run businesses before; this time their business is their home - and it shows.

I can only echo the accolades of those who have gone before and encourage those who yet to visit Abel Tasman to spend a day or two in Pauline and John's beautiful, picturesque home. Accommodation like this will make your trip. Wait and see!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights at Tasman Bay B and B. Pauline and John are absolutely lovely and could not have been more helpful in assisting us to use our time in the area to it's best. John helped us to hire bikes from a local cycle hire company which were delivered to the house and we spent a full day enjoying the quiet roads and beautiful scenery. The trip to Abel Tasman with the boat trip and walk is also amazing and was arranged for us by Pauline and John. Tasman Bay feels like a home and the welcome we were given was wonderful. Our room was clean and spacious and the view over the estuary is incredible. Breakfast is lovingly prepared with home baking and it is really enjoyable to eat all together around the table with other guests enjoying the view!!! There is lots of wildlife, particularly birds, to watch from the window and both Pauline and John are keen to share their local knowledge and experiences with guests so they can enjoy the surroundings. I would definitely recommend Tasman Bay if you want a wonderful stay with amazing hosts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is the best B&B I have ever stayed at. What a wonderful welcome, plus Pauline and John could not have been more helpful in assisting me with my plans. They helped organise a trip to Abel Tasman and were so accommodating. They also gave me some top tips of other things to see in the area. 100% first class in every way. I cannot recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennis1540, Owner at Tasman Bay B&B, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review you posted!! That was really thoughtful of you - we loved having you to stay, your enthusiam was infectious and our aim for our guests staying here is that they experience the best that the region has to offer in the time they spend in area. Your email, updating us on your trip further south was neat to get, thanks! I know you will enjoy going through your photos of you NZ trip.......and planning further excursions and holidays :-) Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calonge, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have never rated any hotel, hostel, gite or B & B as highly as we rate Pauline and John's B & B. Their welcome was all-embracing, their care that we fed well, (well, too well) was impressive, especially that much was lovingly home-made. Our hosts were never obtrusive, yet always just there. They thought what we might need and supplied it, arranging activities in the Abel Tasman National Park, including door-to-door collection, such that we were carefree and so enjoyed every moment of the regrettably short time, two nights, that we spent in their home from home, and delightful company of Pauline and John.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennis1540, Owner at Tasman Bay B&B, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
A HUGE thank you for the kind and generous review you posted on Trip Advisor for us!! We were overwhelmed at the comments and very very grateful to you.

All is well here, and we are still embracing all that this region has to offer. The tides are just perfect today here for whitebaiting (I’m sure John would have shared his knowledge and passion for fishing for whitebait which we do for 3 months of the year here) so we are due to head out to put our nets in……hopefully whitebait fritters for dinner tonight.

I do hope this email finds you both well, I know you both will be enjoying life to the max and having fun along the way!

Thank you once again folks, take care

Warmest regards Pauline and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This review is long overdue, but we had such a nice stay in John and Pauline’s home last November, 2012, that I feel compelled to write. The B & B is in a pretty setting, right on the water, with a view that is beautiful and serene--and the facility is modern and first-rate, with good privacy. John and Pauline are so welcoming and friendly--we looked forward to the conversation at the big breakfast table each morning as much as to the wonderful breakfast Pauline prepared for us! John was amazing with helping us plan our day and had great tips for us on how to make the most of our excursion. He recommended a wonderful tour to us and made the reservations for us--we had a perfect day! Both John and Pauline were so helpful to us with our every need and are such enjoyable people. We would highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Pauline and John's home for three nights during our honeymoon in New Zealand back in March 2013 (this is an overdue review!). Just absolutely lovely people, both are so welcoming and informative! The room was great, and each time we returned in the afternoon/evening, Pauline had left us a delicious baked treat for our enjoyment. In the morning we'd have breakfast with the peaceful and beautiful view, and the breakfast spread was fantastic, with homemade bread and muffins (yummy!). Our room had it's own private patio, where there was a cute little garden to enjoy reading/sitting outside (there were also strawberries growing that we were welcome to as well!).

And of course, as everyone has already mentioned, Pauline and John's knowledge of the area is priceless, as they were able to recommend several activities and restaurants to check out. Honestly, one of the best B&Bs we've ever experienced (in NZ and in general!). Thank you so much to you both, Pauline and John, and remember to contact us about your own trip to Europe!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tasman Bay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tasman Bay B&B

Address: 54 Wharf Road | Riwaka R.D.3 Motueka, Riwaka 7198, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Riwaka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Riwaka
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purpose built B&B, idyllically situated on the shores of Tasman Bay, five minutes from cafes, restaurants and Motueka Information Centre. A recreational Paradise for walking, swimming, kayaking and just minutes from the Abel Tasman Nationala Park, Kaiteriteri and Marahau. We can assist with kayak/activity bookings. Rooms have TVs, tea/coffee facilities, microwaves, separate guest entrances and outdoor areas. Relax in our guest lounge and sheltered outdoor courtyard. Enjoy generous continental breakfasts and friendly hospitality. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tasman Bay B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.