We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast and Lunch in all of Austin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Lago

Cafe Lago
1200 Lakeway Dr Ste 1, Lakeway, TX 78734-4467
(512) 261-8141
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 39 Restaurants in Lakeway
Restaurant details
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast and Lunch in all of Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Cafe Lago is one of the best kept secrets in Lakeway. This is a small cafe/coffee house that is family owned and operated. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and lunch and they serve some of the best home cooked food in the area. The restaurant is located in an out of the way location at 1200 Lakeway Drive in the Lakeway Square Plaza; they don't advertize, but word of mouth has the restaurant full everyday. Their breakfast menu is varied and excellent and their lunch menu has a good variety of delicious soups, quiche, deli salads, terrific sandwiches and yummy bakery items. I just wish they were open for dinner also but you can get take-away! Check out their website:
"cafelagolakeway.com" for a menu and directions or phone (512) 261-8141.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The family cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

If you live in lake way you need to make it a weekly or daily visit!
Great coffee we buy it by the pond, for the house. Great mocha iced
Coffee is my husbands favorite.
If you live in town and want to come visit lake way stop in for a visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Neat little location in scenic area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We have had breakfast at Cafe Lago a couple of times now. It is a smallish family owned establishment located amid the hills and valleys of W Austin. The service is great and homey, the food selection of omletts, specialty dishes , etc. is nice. We had basic ham and eggs type breakfasts. The hash browns were good, eggs to perfection. What we enjoy about the place is the laid back, local atmosphere. I would recommend it if you have a Sunday morning to spend out near the lake and want to catch an easy breakfast.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Popular with the Locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Nothing fancy, but good. While visiting relatives in town, who go there often, we did carry-out on some sandwiches which were both large and delicious. Place appears to be popular with the locals. It was doing a brisk lunch-hour busines, including a table of policemen (don't they always know the best places to eat?) as we waited for our order.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Laid back eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We usually eat outside. Everything is fresh and delicious. My favorites are the omeletes, the blts, club with avocado - Good portions. Don't miss the fresh muffins by the cash register.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Lago also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.