We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Catarina

Santa Catarina
1310 RR 620 South, Suite A4, Lakeway, TX
512-300-0946
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Lakeway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Phone 512.300.0946. Please add Santa Catarina restaurant to your listing. Santa Catarina is a unique boutique restaurant that serves interior mexican food.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The real deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I drove into Austin to eat at Flores, the restaurant that was previously in this location. We were initially bummed to see it was a new restaurant, but we went in because we were hungry.
Greatest decision ever.
I had the pork enchiladas with mole sauce and my husband had the chicken tacos. Both were five stars in our book. Prices are reasonable. There are great happy hour prices from 4-6...7 days a week.
Stop in and try it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Goumet Interior Mexican in Lakeway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Wow! We are so lucky to have this gem so close by. The Cochinito Pibil is AWESOME, as are the hand-made guac and ritas. If you have enjoyed Fonda San Miguel, then you will love this place - the food is the same quality at much more reasonable prices.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“My New Favorite Mexican Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Can't believe I have lived in Austin 11 years and just discovered this great Mexican restaurant in Lakeway. Upon walking in I appreciated the nice Mexican decor and the comfortable seating. They brought complimentary salsa (housemade) and chips (not housemade) which were good, and we paired a few Mexican Martinis with that, which were great. We happened to be there in time for happy hour when all the appetizers were 1/2 off, so we ordered the fresh-made gucamole. It was truly fresh and delicious, and was served with house made fried toritilla chips. Next, we shared the Cochinita Pibil, and were blown away by how delicious everything was. The Cochinita is one of their house specialties, pork slow-roasted in a banana leaf served with mexican rice, beans, and more of the fresh guac, as well as a few of their delicious house-made corn tortillas. We had just returned from a trip to Cabo and this food was every bit as good as what we had in Mexico. To top off the night, we shared the Tres Leches cake that was really delicious. Our server, Miguel, provided excellent service. I have to mention also that I loved all the dishware that the restaurant uses, it is all hand-painted Mexican pottery that makes you feel like you are really eating something special, even before you take a bite. In short, if you love Mexican food, take a trip out to Lakeway and enjoy this gem. A little hard to find, it's in the same plaza where The League is located.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not sure what the fuss is about...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I wanted to try this restaurant based on the reviews. When we walked in, it was extremely loud, lots of kids - seemed like your average Tex-Mex restaurant to me. The food was good - my husband had the Cochinito Pibil (slow roasted pork wrapped in a banana leaf) and I had the Taquitos Dorados. They were good, but not great. We were not especially impressed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Delicious food, fresh, tasty, light. Served on beautiful plates, restaurant nicely decorated, excellent service. Margaritas are different and highly recommend. I was in Austin, Texas for 5 days and i went twice to this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Catarina also viewed

 

Been to Santa Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Catarina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.