We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take the kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Center Texas

Sea Center Texas
300 Medical Drive, Lake Jackson, TX 77566
979-292-0100
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Sea Center Texas is a marine aquarium, fish hatchery and nature center operated by Texas Parks and Wildlife Department. See saltwater aquariums showcasing the diversity of the Texas coast and tour the largest redfish hatchery in the world. Reservations required for hatchery tours. Hours for visitation are Tuesday through Saturday 9 am-4 pm, Sunday 1-4 pm, Closed Mondays. Aquarium feedings Wednesdays and Fridays at 10:30 am. Free Admission and Tours.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to take the kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is a great place to take the kids! And its free! But I think they accept donations at the door which we do each time we've been here. Anytime we have young visitors to our house from out of town, we take them here. Kids love it! Daddy too since I love to fish!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cool way to view fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Take a break when your down Lake Jackson way and visit Sea Center Texas. Teh air conditioning is worth the stop, but go for the exceptional educational experince.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I think it may have had something to do with the fact that we went in the off season but my husband and I had a 2 whole tour guides to ourselves and it was surpringly entertaining. I never dreamed that so much technology and planning went into a fish hatchery. The aquariums are FANTASTIC and beautiful. If you are traveling with kids this would also be a super break and whether you mean to or not, you learn something :)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The museum is well organized, very informative, staffed with a knowledgeable and friendly attendant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great Price_DvB”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The best thing about the Sea Center is the complimentary admission. The guides are friendly volunteers and the selection broader than I anticipated.

I took two children with me and they were occupied and engaged for around an hour, and the provision of the touchable water creatures, coloring books, and other interactive exhibits was great. This is still not comparable to the aquariums readily accessible only an hour north.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Center Texas also viewed

Lake Jackson, Texas Gulf Coast
Surfside Beach, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Lake Jackson, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sea Center Texas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Center Texas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sea Center Texas to your Saves list