We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy atmosphere and great food, but not as kid friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Local

The Local
120 That Way ST., Lake Jackson, TX 77566
+1 979-297-9300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 62 Restaurants in Lake Jackson
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Whether you visit us for breakfast, lunch, dinner, coffee & dessert, cocktails with friends, big or small catered events, we strive to provide the best experience for our customers. Our goal is to be know for having the best food, ambiance, drink & service.
Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere and great food, but not as kid friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Nice restaurant with a good menu selection: from seafood, to chicken fried steak, to salads. Service was great. We had 2 young kids with us on a Friday early dinner (5:30 pm), and I would say The Local is probably best for a date night or meeting up with other adults. Not as kid friendly. There's no kids menu (server told us the 3 kid plate options), and no coloring/activity page or a crayon. That being said, the food and desserts were great, with a made from scratch taste. Music playing and candles on tables, plus an outdoor area with tables.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    23
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, AR
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“good eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Best cuban sandwich I have had around, even better than the Miami airport. convenient, quiet and good service.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Painesville, Ohio
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant, food, and environment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Beautiful interior decorations makes a wonderful environment. Wasn't hungry for lunch when we stopped but had to try a strawberry cupcake and orange cranberry muffin. Was a great snack for $5 and good sized. Also nice entry way into restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is one of our favorite lunch spots and now with the new dinner menu we go on "dates" here frequently. They have the best calamari! Great $4 margaritas just good food all together and all fresh made too!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great spot for dinner off the beaten track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled upon The Local while searching for a spot for dinner. What an unexpected find. Upscale menu hidden away on a back street in Lake Jackson

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Local also viewed

Lake Jackson, Texas Gulf Coast
Lake Jackson, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Lake Jackson, Texas Gulf Coast
Lake Jackson, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Local? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Local, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.