We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost like a private lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Travis

Lake Travis
Lago Vista, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Lago Vista
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular recreational lake near Austin.
Costa Mesa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“almost like a private lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Even though the waterline is very low right now on Lake Travis, we rented a house in Lago Vista were there was still plenty of lake. And almost no one was there for the entire four day weekend! It was almost like having it all to ourselves. There was plenty of room to do tubing and jet skis. We had an awesome time!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    16
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Boat- Riding, Cliff Lunch, Boozy Days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This lake is so huge ! You're able to rent boats (without a license - but someone needs to know how to drive or you will sink the boat ) rent jet skiis n they have a supermarket for snacks, beer and drinks. You can dock and party with other boats which we kinda did, the anchor had nowhere to tie it to on our boat ! Fail at that but we were close to the other boats and some guys had the same problem with their anchor. There's a cool lunch bar and restaurant on the cliff overlooking the water which was really fun. Overall a great place to go for the day!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Check the Water Levels Before You Go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have lived around the lake for more than a decade. It can be great but it can also be awful. The lake levels are variable and the area has been in a multi year drought. If the lake isnt up to level it makes it hard to enjoy. If the lake is at level, it is hard to beat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We need more water!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I enjoy sailing out of the Austin Yacht Club, but with the current multi-year drought it is likely to be a very long, hot summer with record low lake levels.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Would be nice if it had water in it.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The water levels at Lake Travis are down 60%. We stayed on the Island which at one time had water around it. No longer. I feel sorry for people who built these huge expensive houses there only to not be able to use there boat docks. Bad news.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Travis also viewed

 

Been to Lake Travis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Travis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.