We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Texas meet Maryland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Battleship Texas State Historic Site

Battleship Texas State Historic Site
3523 Independence Pkwy, La Porte, TX 77571
+1 281-479-2431
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in La Porte
Type: National Parks, Ships, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spend The Night Aboard The Battleship TEXAS!That's right. You and a group of friends can actually spend the night aboard this huge Battleship. Sleep where the actual sailors who lived on her bunked down for the night.Battleship TEXAS was commissioned in 1914 and is the only surviving US Navy ship to have served in both WW I and WW II. The Battleship TEXAS become the Nations first Battleship museum on 21 April 1948. Located at the San Jacinto Battleground State Historic Site in La Porte, Texas (just out side of Houston, TX). We are open daily to the public 7 days a week from 10am - 5:30pm. The ship is under the care of Texas Parks and Wildlife. The Battleship Texas Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization which works closely with the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD) for the preservation, restoration and presentation of the world's last dreadnought-type battleship, the historic Battleship TEXAS. The BTF sponsors the Overnight Education program where we host any group size from 15 up to 78 people, from the Boy Scouts, Cub Scouts, Girl Scouts, Schools, Church Youth Groups, US Naval Sea Cadets, NJROTC, ROTC units, and any other interested parties. That's right. You and a group of friends can actually spend the night aboard this huge Battleship. Sleep where the actual sailors who lived on her bunked down for the night.
Lutherville, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Texas meet Maryland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Outstanding site for anyone interested in naval history and for their state heritage I am so glad that my wife and I visited this historic ship while on our first visit to the Houston area.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    95
    21
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The battle ship!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I love visiting old history museums and battle ships. This one is my favorite battle ship. I'm glad to see that she is still standing and open for us all to walk aboard and get a feel for what history was made on this great ship in both world wars.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield, Utah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The ghost of sailors past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I are both former members of the Coast Guard and love to take the opportunity to experience life aboard the grand old ladies that made the world a better place. Our grandfathers sailed these old battlewagons and deserve a tip of the hat when you meet one. The quarters were always tight, privacy nil. When it came to projecting power though, these iron men took her out in two wars, fought at D Day and Iwo Jima. On commission she was the most powerful weapon in the world. If you walk the halls (passageways for you sailors) and feel the history, the lives lived and lost, you will appreciate the sacrifice made for you. Go, Enjoy, Live and Learn.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Grand old lady”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

She is getting older as we all are. She sets proudly though keeping a watch over another symbol of courage and patriotism, The San Jacinto Monument. It is still a thrill just to walk those decks and try to visualize the activity they have seen in war and in peace. Now she is resting, hoping the repairs being made to her aging sides will ive her a few more chances to teach the newer generatiions about a time of worry and fear but one of responding to a threat to the future of this great country. Many areas of the interior have to be sealed of from entry to help maintain the integrity of her inner spaces. But the areas you can accesss will give your heart an uplift just recalling the days of her glory in the past. For now she stands as a proud and mighty reminder of our strength in our togetherness against all odds. Say a prayer for a grand old Lady!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great historic site!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stopped here on our way back from Galveston, and it is definitely worth the trip. Kids under 12 get in free, and the lady gave my husband the military discount (even without it, the entrance fee is low). You can go through a lot of places on the ship, more than some similar ones I have toured. My son loved going through the lower deck and then up high. You can get a great view of the monument nearby from the bow of the ship. There are also a lot of ships going back and forth through the port nearby, so that is pretty neat to watch. I would recommend bringing some bug spray.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Battleship Texas State Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Battleship Texas State Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Battleship Texas State Historic Site, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.