We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food & good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Komfort Kitchen

Southern Komfort Kitchen
2501 Underwood Road, La Porte, TX 77571
+1 281-867-9231
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 60 Restaurants in La Porte
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Katy, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food & good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Friendly and inviting. Good variety on menu. Prices are reasonable. Food is very good. I would recommend to anyone for a casual experience of relaxed dinning and flavorful food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    17
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Loved the Grilled Salmon! Not fishy or greasy. Gr8 Menu Items!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I was impressed. It's a "Good ole southern food" restaurant. Super clean. Open and friendly atmosphere. The names of the menu categories give you a chuckle. They have a wide variety of food--fish, chicken, beef, wild game, salads, etc. Our waiter was soooo friendly!! Made the visit worth it. The atmosphere is laid-back, country, family fun. The portions are huge and the prices range from cheap to reasonable. I had the grilled salmon and it was one of the best salmon steaks I've had. Not greasy, not fishy, didn't fall apart, just right. The cupcakes are awesome and the biscuits in the bread basket were scrumptious too :-) I will come back again. Glad I found this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We are seniors and eat off the seniors menu. We find there is still plenty of great tasting food and big portions. Take home left overs a lot. Service is good and the owner is great as well as his wife. If you are coming to La Porte try this restaurant, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious country cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Our sons had a basketball game in LaPorte, so I looked online for good restaurants in that area. The reviews for Southern Komfort Kitchen were really good, so we gave it a try. We were not disappointed!!

The portions are quite large, prices are decent, staff is very friendly/helpful, and the food was fantastic. The chicken fried steak was the best I've had and my husband's fried pork chop was great too!! We all left very satisfied and are certainly tempted to drive an hour just to eat there again. Try it . . . you will be glad you did!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have eaten here many times, and it is one of our favorites. The menu is extensive and should please anyone. The only thing that I have had that I didn’t like was the gumbo. Everything else is first rate. We have a group that eats out together after church, and it can range from six to fifteen. That is their busiest time, but the wait has never been over thirty minutes. They go above and beyond in accommodating us. There is a senior menu if you want smaller servings and lower prices. The service has always been outstanding. It is worth our drive from Baytown.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Komfort Kitchen also viewed

La Porte, Texas Gulf Coast
La Porte, Texas Gulf Coast
 
La Porte, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Southern Komfort Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Komfort Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.