We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites La Porte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites La Porte to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites La Porte
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1250 S. 13th St, La Porte, TX 77571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in La Porte
Beaverton, Oregon
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We were surprised and pleased to find several amenities: the "store" in the lobby available 24 hours a day (pay on the honor system) was very useful; the free laundry services (several machines) in the same room with the exercise equipment; well equiped kitchenettes, with complimentary popcorn! In general excellent service, clean, a good night's sleep.

What surprised us was the regional(?) manager upbraiding the staff in front of guests. Reprimanding without cause even! Such a fool. It was very uncomfortable for us, especially when he said, nice and loud, "honor systems never work." Huh?

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
7
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

The finest extended stay hotel & suites hands down. Brand new property. Mgt & staff have superior customer service skills. Free hot dinner buffet & beer on WED. Laundry is FREE!! DVD players in all rooms. Have an outdoor grill/canopy, and the suites are FULLY equiped!! Pots/pans, elec stove, dishwasher, silverware, plates, cups, etc. Never had to buy anything. Gr8food pantry too. Really cater to the La Porte plant worker crowd & out-of-towners. Couldn't find ANYTHING wrong w/ this place. A real GEM. Everyone is so darn friendly!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I travel 80% of the year and I know hotels. Candlewood suites Laporte is hands down the best service and comfort available in Laporte Texas . I had switched hotels twice before discoveing them.
The staff is friendly, ALL OF THEM, All of the time. They have proven to be willing to help in anyway they can with a cheerful attitude. The weekly dinner they serve to all of the guests is a way to get to know the other, creating a feeling of comfort and safety.
I highly reccomend to each Trip Advisor member to show thier support of quality customer based behavior, reward Candlewood Suites with your business you will not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

My family and I traveled to La Porte to say goodbye to a beloved family member, and Candlewood made the whole stay less stressful. They realized that our family needed some time to gather after the funeral, and made the meeting room available to us. It made such a difference! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites La Porte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites La Porte

Address: 1250 S. 13th St, La Porte, TX 77571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > La Porte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in La Porte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites La Porte 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites LaPorte is located at Hwy 146 and West Fairmont Parkway. This beautiful property is within minutes of NASA Space Center, Hobby Airport, and Sylvan Beach. At Candlewood Suites LaPorte, we put the amenities where they count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen and relax in their recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high-speed Internet access. Candlewood Suites LaPorte is within walking distance of many favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to 'dine in,' a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard convenience store provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream. Candlewood Suites LaPorte provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Much larger than the average hotel room and more affordable than a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites is the perfect home away from home for relocation, project, temporary assignment or training needs. Unlike a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites does not require a lease or minimum length of stay. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or several months, Candlewood Suites LaPorte is the solution to your temporary housing needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites La Porte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites La Porte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.