We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn Out Room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   902 South 8th Street, La Porte, TX 77571   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in La Porte
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worn Out Room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My group did not have as bad a room as me, they were OK with their amenities. My room had thread bare carpet, broken tile near the toilet, large wall with small TV. The room was large so if you had any welder, tools, or personal belongings you could not leave in the back of the work truck you could put it in the room. It was the type of room where the blue collar guys stay in as they work outages at the local industrial plants. The fold out couch was dirty. For a working man's room it was OK, as a family or business traveler it was poor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy5, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review and comment on our hotel. We appreciate all guest comments and suggestions to help us understand our guest needs. My staff and I apologize your room was not up to your standards and will share the comments with all departments to see how we can better improve.
Have a wonderful day!
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
5
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Aransas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Check in was rude young lady would not speak up to where you could hear what she was saying. Got to the room and there was candy wrappers around the couch and between the bed and night stand. Made me wonder if the sheets were clean. 2 queen suite and there was only one large towel in the bathroom. Called front desk and was told to bring my dirty towel and they would exchange, B.S. After 30 minutes had to down to front desk and ask for a second time. And finally what set me off is the TV did not work. In short bad experience will not be back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy Krupski M, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Ricky A.
Guest feedback is important to us so we can better understand what we might be doing wrong.
I have shared your comments with the correct departments and staff to see how we can remedy the situation.
We strive daily to make sure each guest receives 100% satisfaction, and to know that you did not receive that is disappointing to us all.
I make no excuses for the items that were wrong with your stay at our hotel, all I can tell you is Thank you for letting us know so we can correct the problem.
Hopefully you will give us another try in the future to see if we have improved.
Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, TX
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Our stay was pleasant. The rooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast was good - eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravy, waffles, muffins, donuts, cereal, yogurt, fruit, etc. While were there, it was more of a "working man's" hotel than a family hotel, but that was fine. We had a small issue with the hotel not giving us enough towels for our family, but the manager apologized. Several of the cardio machines in the fitness room didn't work properly.

The area is very industrial, but very close to Sylvan Beach and central to NASA, San Jacinto, and Battleship Texas.

This hotel will certainly not "wow" you, but if you're just looking for a clean place to sleep, you'll likely be satisfied.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy5, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I have shared your thoughts and comments with our staff to see how we can further help our guest to make sure they receive 100% satisfaction.

We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We booked 2 suites on our way to our cruise. It's about 20 minutes to the port and 45 minutes from Hobby Airport. The breakfast was standard fare, nothing special. Many other reviews say the hotel provides a shuttle to the port, however they do not have hotel shuttles. They did help us contact a transportation service that gave good service. Our rooms could hold a max of 6 people but they only provided one small shampoo (enough for one person). We also had to ask for a blanket for the pull out bed. I would stay again but only one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy5, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate guest comments as these help us to better accommodate our guest.

I have shared your thoughts and comments with our staff to see how we can better improve.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This picture on line is very miss leading. Floors dirty, chairs, and soft. As a mold smell, if you have allergy problems STAY away.
You do not get what you see.Especially when you paid $100 a night. Alot of straight looking mens. Looks like a stop for working men. This not an environment for your family. Wish holiday inn had an open.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy5, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I have shared your comments and concerns with our Guest Room Attendant department and will definitely correct the concerns. We want our guest to experience 100% satisfaction at all times.

Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you in the future

Have a great day.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at the Comfort Suites in La Porte on a Friday night before leaving on a cruise. The hotel gave us a paper with information on our cruise line and allowed us to leave our car at their parking lot during the cruise with no additional charge. The shuttle service to the pier they recommended cost $8 per person, and it worked out very well. The shuttle arrived at the hotel about 15 minutes before our scheduled time. After the cruise we took a taxi back to the hotel for $20, used the hotel restrooms and headed home. In all, it was a very good stay. Both the morning & evening clerks were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean with no odor. The lobby & breakfast area were large. The breakfast was certainly adequate with eggs & ham and all the items you find at a free continental hotel breakfast. There is a fast food and and another restaurant within walking distance. We will stay there again if we go on another cruise and certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy5, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We appreciate guest comments whether good or bad, this helps us ensure all our guest receive 100% satisfaction.

We look forward to helping with your hotel needs in the future.

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed over the new year's holiday and enjoyed the hotel and the property very much. Ms Amanda were very kind and wonderful to work with when I was booking our stay. Everyone on the Hotel staff was very kind, friendly and helpful. The hotel was nice, clean, warm, and comfortable. We will definitely be back! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy5, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate comments of all types from our guest.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Next time you are in town and stay with us check out our Gazebo which is for our guest use.

Once again, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 902 South 8th Street, La Porte, TX 77571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > La Porte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in La Porte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
67 all suite hotel, free wireless internet, free full hot breakfast buffet. Evening managers reception Monday-Thursday 5:30pm to 7:00pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites La Porte
La Porte Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.