We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Texas City / La Marque

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Texas City / La Marque to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Texas City / La Marque
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5201 Gulf Freeway, La Marque, TX 77568 (Formerly Travelodge Inn & Suites Texas City / La Marque)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in La Marque
Mesquite, Texas
1 review
“very bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

the whole hotel reeked of cigarette smoke. we had two rooms for two nights and niether room got cleaned. the staff had such bad attitudes and the service was horrible. i will never stay here again

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
8
8
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grapeland, TX
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

THe staff were nice enough and the price was right but the good stops there. After a hard day's work we were ready to hit the hot tub but when we got there it was GREEN with alge. It stunk and was unusable. There were holes in the ceiling and the rooms were tiny. I really can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed over night here July 25th 2009, it was awesome! Our group was two single mothers and three kids all under eight years old...We booked a non-smoking room with two queen beds and a desk...I just knew it would smell like smoke but it didn't!!! I was so surprised! The non-smoking rooms are in a completely seperate building and no where near smokers! The desk cleark was nice and we had no problem getting about ten extra towels after getting out of the pools! There are two pools and a great , GREAT hot tub! One pool is really shallow and right buy the hot tub so little kids can have fun too while mom relaxes in the hot tub!! The pool area as a whole was really impressive, in that it is completely landscaped with great plants and a beautiful Cactus garden I really wanted to take home with me! They really made the whole pool courtyard beautiful! The room was really big and there was plenty of space and even a recliner in the room. I also noticed that the mattress look brand new...It was a great night sleep!
The next morning we went in for the "free breakfast" and were really impressed with the nice set-up waiting for us. There was fresh fruit, sweet rolls/muffins/bagels/cinnamon and raisin bread with an assortment of peanut butter/cream cheese and jellies. They also had oatmeal and four different name brand cerels...four juices and milk, plus coffee/tea...the big winner for the kids was a do-it-yourself waffle maker! They had a blast! There was an attendant in the area that kept everything filled and nothing even ran low, GREAT SERVICE!!!
I wanted to write this review because when I was planning our trip to Galveston I was really leary of the "cheap" motels...So, I tell you in all honesty, this Travelodge is great. Don't think that the $200 a night places on the Island are safer or better...this place was just great and a real BARGIN! Plus it is really just minutes down I-45 to the beaches! I will stay here the next time we go to Gaveston/Kemah and reccomend it to anyone who is looking for a family friendly place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

Stayed here in February during visit to Houston and Galveston. It's inbetween the 2 cities. Staff was friendly, room was clean, and good sized, everything worked. Liked that the bathroom had it's own sink and mirror area for some privacy. Walls were a little thin and it was pretty noisy at night due to a party in the room next to us. There is a bar adjacent to the hotel that you can get to through the lobby. It was an employees birthday and karaoke night so it was pretty crowded with locals. It was a fun place to hang out at for a while before bed on our way back from Galveston. The breakfast was decent and consisted of your basic free breakfast items. Overall, we enjoy staying at Travelodge's whenever we travel because we usually know that we're going to get a decent room for a decent price. We've stayed at some that are nicer than others. This was one of the nicer ones. Will most likely be staying at this particular location again.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, large room, sink&mirror in bathroom, full sized mirror in room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Texas City / La Marque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Texas City / La Marque

Address: 5201 Gulf Freeway, La Marque, TX 77568 (Formerly Travelodge Inn & Suites Texas City / La Marque)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > La Marque
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in La Marque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Texas City / La Marque 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Texas City / La Marque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Texas City / La Marque Hotel La Marque
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites-Texas City / La Marque
La Marque Travel Lodge
La Marque Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Texas City / La Marque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.