We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Back Porch BBQ

The Back Porch BBQ
1602 N Jefferson, La Grange, TX 78945
979-968-1580
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in La Grange
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Description: Looking for inspirational local BBQ? Then step onto The Back Porch, La Grange’s newest, locally-owned restaurant serving up the finest beef, pulled pork, sausage, baby back ribs and side dishes this side of the Fayette County line. Now open for hungry customers 11 a.m. to 8 p.m. Thursday, Sunday and Monday and 11 a.m. to 9 p.m Friday and Saturday (closed Tuesday and Wednesday). Located at the northeast corner of Hwy 71 East and Hwy 77 North, the slow-cooked, home inspired menu will delight palates with tempting sandwiches, sides, desserts and traditional fare.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stopped in for ribs and beer. Who can beat that? The ribs are flavorful and tender. The potato salad is creative and delicious. The pinto beans needed salt.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Euless, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Place, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Their brisket is to die for. The pulled pork is great, and the lady who waited on me was very nice. Unfortunately, their menu was a bit limited but what they did have was good. Had apparently only been open 311 days when we visited.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food, little hectic.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stopped here on our way back from the airport. Small cozy restaurant with country charm and pretty good BBQ eats.

Ordering our food was a tad chaotic as they were out of ribs and pork apparently. The two gals at the cash register kept mixing it up between themselves what the restaurant had run out of (we're out of pork, no wait, etc...). This in turn created confusion for us and the customers after us. Serving my husband's food they didn't bring the chips, my husband reminded the gentlemen and he replied, "oh yeah". When my food was brought out a few minutes after my husbands (odd) he had forgotten the chips as well. I didn't bother asking.

Overall, the food tasted great and we would visit again. It appeared as if only teens were working here. Better organization was needed on this particular day I suppose.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great food and perfect stop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Back Porch BBQ has great food and service. The perfect stop for us during the MS 150. 1/2 chicken was amazing and potato salad was just as good. Prices were reasonable as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Divine Complex Flavors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We stop by The Back Porch randomly and discovered delicious complex Flavors. They make their own pickles, amazing conger base slaw. Perfect brisket. Every part of the meal was thought out and exploding with flavor. The pinto were classic soupy beans with perfectly soft beans & meat in them.
We will definitely come back.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Back Porch BBQ also viewed

 

Been to The Back Porch BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Back Porch BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.