We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek to your Saves list
Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4444 W FM 150, Kyle, TX 78640 (Formerly The Inn Above Onion Creek)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Kyle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High quality B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Recently updated throughout, the new ownership has created a relaxing environment, refreshing pool and spa, great service and food, with attention to detail. Loved the fire pit. One of a kind. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
198
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Prairie, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We provided a beautiful,peaceful escape for the bride,bridesmaids, bride and groom mothers,and godmothers at Sage Hill Above Onion Creek on July 4th. It was fun to surprise our guests with a fabulous luncheon, gorgeous atmosphere and excellent service. Meagan turned the library into our special dining experience with all its charm and fresh flowers on the tables from their own gardens. The girls loved taking pictures in the beautiful outdoor settings. Everyone was so reluctant to leave and all hoped to come back as guests. Sage Hill handled everything with just a phone call, this is a true Texas gem! Such a perfect way to start the hectic wedding weekend. Thanks to everyone at Sage Hill for making this so wonderful! Hope to see you soon when we can return as guests for a weekend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

We spent a night in Maurice's Coach House which is a little removed from the main hotel. The premises are beautiful, a combination of rustic and clean modern lines. We loved the bedroom and bathroom decor and especially the back porch and hammock overlooking the hills. One small disappointment was that we had ordered dinner to be delivered to our room as a treat. The meal came served in plastic containers without any plates. There were no plates in our little kitchen area either. We ate from the containers rather than let the food get cold; it was delicious but poorly presented.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

My husband and I spend a night at the Sage Hill Inn last weekend, while attending a wedding out that way. We stayed in Maurice's Coach House, which along with Maurice's Cottage, is a short drive (or long walk) from the main inn.
The attention to detail was wonderful. The room itself was very nice, modern and rustic at the same time. The bathroom was gorgeous, with a large soaking tub and fireplace that faces both the bedroom and bathroom. The bed was comfy. The back deck was very relaxing, to enjoy a beverage and watch the lizards, birds and bunnies play.
The pool is up by the main inn and was very nice, although a little crowded on a sunny Saturday afternoon.
The food was top notch - I can't say that I've ever stayed at a B&B where dinner is included in your room rate. The chef will style the menu based on dietary preferences if you give them enough heads up.
We can't wait to come back when the weather is cooler and enjoy a glass of wine by the fire pit!

Room Tip: There are several rooms away from the main inn, if you desire more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We enjoyed two nights at the Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek last week. Within 30 minutes of arriving at the property, my husband and I were stunned by the level of relaxation we had already reached. If you're looking for a place to let go of stress, slow down, and just take a deep breath, this is it. We stayed in the Hays room, which was spacious (huge, actually) with an enormous bathroom full of natural light. There was a lovely balcony off the back of the room with uninterrupted views for many miles. And the front door opened onto a beautiful porch with rocking chairs and views of the gorgeous gardens.

It's impossible to name all the ways this Inn anticipates the needs/desires of its guests. There are hammocks and rocking chairs dotted around the property, a lovely pool and hot tub, a fabulous fire pit, tree swings, comfy porch seating, a soothing library, jars of freshly baked cookies, coffee and tea in the dining room, popcorn in you want to enjoy a movie, baskets of blankets on the porch if the night becomes chilly, walking sticks and water for the trails (don't miss the hiking trails!), a soothing spa offering great services (we had a couples massage), and some of the best flowerbeds and gardens I have ever seen. That's not everything, or even close, but just some of the things that really stuck out in my mind.

The only negative I can mention is that neither of us slept well, as we were uncomfortable on the mattress in our room. I'll be quick to say, however, that we both have finicky backs and this is not an uncommon problem for us. I imagine many folks sleep very well in that room. We happened to have a terrible night's sleep both nights. It could just as easily have happened to us anywhere. But the rest of the trip made up for it.

We're accustomed to the delicious breakfasts served at most Select Registry Inns, but this is the first place we've visited that includes a three-course dinner each night. The food was nothing short of fabulous.

But the relaxation factor was most important to us. We spent vast amounts of time curled up in comfy spots around the property, just reading our books, munching on cookies, and enjoying a cup of tea. I honestly can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place was awesome! My boyfriend and I came here for our 4 year anniversary and the staff took very good care of us. The room was very clean and cool when we arrived. Also, the refrigerator was stocked for us and there was no extra charge if we wanted to drink something. The grounds were also very clean and the pool and sunset was beautiful. There are hiking trails that lead to a creek (so bring tennis shoes) and theres a spa where we had a couples massage at a very reasonable price. The food was delicious and if you have an allergy they will accomidate you! There also isnt a lot of guests at one time, so its a great place for relaxing. We would definitely go here again! We actually plan on going once a year!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This was my second time to return to the Inn. This time I brought along my Mother in Law & 2 sister in laws for a “Mother’s Day Getaway”. We arrived on Friday, May 16th and stayed for 2 nights checking out on Sunday, May 18th. All 4 of us stayed in the lovely Toalson Suite-which was perfect. Two of us shared the King Bed, 1 made use of the sleeper sofa & the other in the twin bed hideaway. I loved seeing all the artwork on the walls in our suite which was actually photography of flowers around the Inn that included the date it was taken-nice touch. It was also nice to have a mini fridge in our Suite that included water & sodas for the taking. The beds were comfortable, ac works good, bathroom is nice and suite is filled with great furniture. Lovely space!!! We had rocking chairs on the front porch and chairs on the back. Enjoyed sitting at both! This was the first visit for the other ladies in my group, they were all so impressed with the Inn. From the start of our weekend to the very end. I was really happy with all the updates and improvements: the new pool deck & spa- we enjoyed both during our weekend. The fire pit-we sat around that both nights and had many laughs and deep enjoyable talks w/other guests. Great retreat for the evenings to sip your wine, listen to music, star gaze ect. I noticed all the new furniture in the dining room-those tables & chairs are gorgeous!!! As well as the re-vamp to the library-LOVE the paint colors as well as the furniture in that room. My group would sit in here after breakfast each morning sipping on our delicious pecan coffee just mesmerized at every little thing in this room. The food was just as good this time around as my first visit. Equally both dinner & breakfast were just so delicious. We weren’t fans of the dinner rolls, but everything else was amazing! The granola & cookies that are available 24/7 were better than I remember!! My group didn’t enjoy any of the spa services, sadly….but we did purchase the “Grapes & Olives Package” from the front desk and really enjoyed it. I highly recommend adding this onto your stay. Its such a good deal!!! You get to visit 6 of the nearby wineries & at each one you get numerous tastings. One of the wineries gave a complimentary wine glass to each of us in addition to the tastings, lunch was included @Trattoria Lisina(so delicious), fresh jar of olive oil @Bella Vista Vineyard & Orchards. The view @Driftwood Estate Winery was breathtaking. WOW. This is a must see. Please visit this winery at the very least!!! I really appreciate all the little things at this B&B that set it apart from any other. Examples: binoculars in our room, walking sticks on the porch should you want to take a hike, blankets in baskets on the porch for those cold nights, cold water, sunblock & insect repellant & towels available @the pool. The fresh flowers in our room upon our arrival. The hand soap & hand lotion in our bathroom is GREAT!!!! Every member of the staff is so nice. My group likes to talk and they would always welcome that and engage in conversation with us! I can’t say enough things about this place, only wish I could afford a weekend trip every MONTH!! =)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek

Address: 4444 W FM 150, Kyle, TX 78640 (Formerly The Inn Above Onion Creek)
Location: United States > Texas > Kyle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 16-room luxury inn and spa on 88 acres with stunning views, relaxing porches and luxury accommodations. Located just 25 miles from Austin, TX, Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek was designed to be the ultimate Texas Hill Country escape for romantic getaways, Hill Country vacations or corporate retreats. Come and experience some of the best Hill Country views, award winning food and visit some of the great nearby locations like the Salt Lick, Duchman Winery and the nearby shopping in San Marcos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Onion Creek Hotel Kyle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.