We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This inn is our favorite place to relax, "hide away", and to reconnect and cherish our marriage!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek to your Saves list
Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4444 W FM 150, Kyle, TX 78640 (Formerly The Inn Above Onion Creek)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Kyle B&B and Inns
1 review
“This inn is our favorite place to relax, "hide away", and to reconnect and cherish our marriage!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at The Inn Above Onion Creek for several years now. I believe we have stayed five times. It is OUR place to unwind.

I tell everybody I know who is looking to get away to check them out. I'm sure my friends get tired of me raving about this place, but do you do when you have found a gem? You have to tell!

Here are just a few reasons we adore this inn:

-quiet and secluded
-we are nature lovers and gardeners so their attention to preserve the natural beauty of the hill country is outstanding
-the views are breath-taking
-the grounds are lovely, complete with overlooks and quiet nooks and crannies
-the new addition of the fire-pit
-awesome new pool decking and jacuzzi... Love the modern and sleek look that blends really well with the charm of this place.
-the wind in the trees with total silence except for crickets is refreshing
-the most relaxing massages with nice consultants
-love the three cats and how they turn over every time you see them for a belly rub.. Some will even come into your room :)
-amazing food prepared with skill and courtesy. They even made a note that I don't prefer fish for later reference.
-the staff is incredibly courteous and helpful and ready to answer our questions
-clean rooms with comfy beds and meticulously appointed furniture for charm and comfort
-all the hummingbird feeders where we can watch the hummingbirds
-lots of swings, hammocks, and rocking chairs to snuggle up in and watch the sunset
-love the gardens used for the fresh flowers in the rooms and the fresh herbs and veggies that are used in the meals prepared
-close enough to area attractions like Austin or our personal favorite, Wimberly
-my husband loves the cookies that are always out for eating
-they feed you breakfast AND dinner.. What other inn does that?
-love the quiet library
-the Lavendar soaps used in all the rooms and facilities is great
-love the dog-run!!
-spotting dear and wildlife on the tucked-away land is a nice surprise

All together, we cannot recommend this place enough. Well worth the money and time to stay here. We thoroughly look forward to our next visit!

-The Schoppes

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    20
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
178
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were able to get a room last minute at this wonderful B&B. What a wonderful escape from our hectic lives. We enjoyed every moment from the beautiful entrance and hill country views to rocking on the porch! We had a nice couples massage at the spa. Enjoyed dinner and breakfast while having great conversations with staff and guests alike! Everyone at this B&B is very helpful and welcoming. We look forward to going back and staying much longer. This is not your typical B&B, this is really more like a high end resort! Our only complaint is we couldn't stay longer! We hope to be back soon to see Amy and all her wonderful staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The room was a bit pricey but very nice, modern yet romantic. I can't say enough good things about the food, the food was wonderful, both dinner and breakfast!!! A nice place and a very nice property where you can hike, enjoy nature and the lovely flowers and Texas Hill Country. They also had a nice common area where you can borrow books, movies and cd's for the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is the place for an idealized Hill Country experience. The two main buildings, vegetable and herb gardens, timer controlled fire pit, pool, walking paths and hill top views all blend for a beautiful setting. Staff was gracious, room amenities wonderful. Light sleepers should be aware of noise from other guests going up stairs and walking overhead in second floor rooms so ask staff to recommend best choices. During our stay the menus tended toward heavier, high fat foods. We would have liked more veggies and fruit. However, our fellow guests were mostly repeat visitors who were quite happy with the offerings at dinner and breakfast. Overall, the Inn offers a relaxing escape to the Hill Country everyone imagines in a completely pampered way.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My Husband and I recently spent a few days at the Inn......We enjoyed the beautiful views from the Nance Suite......such a charming suite......We enjoyed the pool and kitties that roam the property and take care of the guests........The food was excellent......we ate breakfast and dinner on site each day.....we even to took the tray to our room for a more intimate setting one night.......although it is fun to socialize with other guests at the beginning and end of the day....We hiked each morning and enjoyed lots of wildflowers.....the Indian Blankets were in full bloom.....plently of places to just relax and enjoy the view......A lovely place to escape with my Love.......

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our second visit to the Inn. My wife and I were celebrating our fifteenth wedding anniversary and decided to stay at the Inn again. It was as good as it was the first time. The food is great and the staff are very helpful. We actually stayed in a different room each night for our stay. They were all good. The Nance suite was great. If rest and relaxation is what you need this is the place to go. My wife enjoyed the spa and the food was all great. The local wineries were nice and of course the hill country was as enjoyable as always. We highly recommend the Inn and are looking forward to our next visit!!

Room Tip: They are all good!! The schlemmer is on the third floor with very steep steps. Helps you get your ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I just finished a staycation visit to the Texas Hill Country. The Inn Above Onion Creek was our last stop but we wish it had been first...we never would have bothered to go elsewhere. The setting was lovely, offering great views of the Texas sunset, a glorious and newly rebuilt pool deck where we swam after dark watching the bats swooping around.

The food was delicious and significantly better than the other B&B's we stayed at while out. The dinner was roasted quail, swiss chard from their gardens and sauteed mushrooms. Bring your own bottle of wine to dinner, relax and enjoy the natural and pleasant conversation with your tablemates. We met some lovely people!

Our room (Kuykendahl) was two stories which was perfect since I go to bed earlier than my hubby...he was able to read without disturbing me. The shower in the room was larger than the entire bathroom of my first apartment! It had a front and back porch that enabled us to enjoy the gardens as well as the sunset. Perfect setting. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek

Address: 4444 W FM 150, Kyle, TX 78640 (Formerly The Inn Above Onion Creek)
Location: United States > Texas > Kyle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 15-room luxury inn and spa on 88 acres with stunning views, relaxing porches and luxury accommodations. Located just 25 miles from Austin, TX, Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek was designed to be the ultimate Texas Hill Country escape for romantic getaways, Hill Country vacations or corporate retreats. Come and experience some of the best Hill Country views, award winning food and visit some of the great nearby locations like the Salt Lick, Duchman Winery and the nearby shopping in San Marcos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Onion Creek Hotel Kyle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.