We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek to your Saves list
Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4444 W FM 150, Kyle, TX 78640 (Formerly The Inn Above Onion Creek)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Kyle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I are currently enjoying our 7th trip here in as many years. It is far and away our favorite destination in the Texas hill country. The location is gorgeous--the inn is a mile off the main road, so it is very quiet and peaceful. The views from every room are lovely. We especially appreciate that they serve dinner so we don't have to drive anywhere else after a fantastic meal; and we have always enjoyed the company of the other very interesting guests. Breakfast is also wonderful. The staff are welcoming and friendly. Rooms are very clean, spacious, comfortable and decorated in a simple/rustic/ lovely way. We are already looking forward to next year's trip!

Room Tip: We have stayed in virtually every room, plus the cottage and love them all equally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
198
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My wife an I spent two nights at this wonderful B&B in October 2012. It's located roughly 9 miles west of I-35 in Kyle, TX which is between San Marcos and Austin. The location is great! The terrain is fairly rugged and the inn is well off of the main road and very secluded. We stayed in Maurice's Guest Room which is in the same building as Maurice's Cottage, but they are separated by a breezeway. The building is about a half mile from the main guest house and kitchen in a very private setting. The room was equipped with everything we needed. An incredibly comfortable king size bed with top quality pillows and sheets. Refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer, TV with satellite service and excellent cell phone signal. Plenty of water pressure in the shower and super soft and absorbent towels.
Your stay here includes breakfast AND dinner which is a huge bonus because it might be a bit difficult to find a really nice meal close to the inn. Other nice amenities include a spa in a separate building (which we utilized for a very nice couples massage), cookies, coffee, a library with plenty of reading material, a computer with internet access(in the library), restrooms at the main kitchen, a really nice swimming pool, walking trails and plenty of easy parking just to name a few. All of the meals were fantastic! Professionally prepared with good portions and delicious. Absolutely no reason to eat breakfast or dinner away from the inn! Bring your own alcoholic drinks and enjoy!
The staff here is attentive and friendly. We felt very comfortable here and will definitely be going back.
I would include photos but the ones they have posted on their website are very accurate, even the photos of the food! Very, very nice place and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We celebrated our 35th Anniversary this weekend at Texas' finest Inn--Bar None!! 5-Star accomodations, breakfast and dinner were first class! Amy and her staff's continued "Excellence" are a shining star for Texans to be proud of! I have stayed at two of the top 10 rated Inns in the U.S. and the IAOC's matches their service and outstanding customer service!

Room Tip: We love the Rooms with the Sunset View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchitoches LA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Pros: Great property, lovely Hill Country setting, great views, good pool, room was well appointed, spacious and comfortable, with a great bed. Outstanding internet, good tv, books in room. Just a pretty and comfortable room, and I think we had the least expensive room.

Also, a knowledgeable and efficient staff made for a relaxing spa experience.

Bathroom roomy and comfortable, high end toiletries, nice furnishing (but see cons). My wife really liked the walk-in closet. Food was delicous, seriously good meals, portions adequate for most but just adequate. I didn't leave hungry, but since dinner was at 6:00 p.m., I had to hit the (excellent) dining room cookies later in the evening to make it through to breakfast, which was also excellent but with just adequate portions. At both meals, the men at the tables were cleaning off their wive's plates. At breakfast though, you can fill in with self-serve granola (home-made), fruit and muffins.

Cons: And these are very minor quibbles, but the shower was a wrap around curtain around the claw foot tub but curtain wasn't secured with weights or magnets so when you took a shower, it wrapped itself around you. It was like trying to take a shower while a wet sheet kept trying to wind itself around your body. Second problem was the low flow shower heads. I understand that Texas has had a terrible drought the last two years, but I've never seen such a low flow head. The water seemed to completely mist out about two feet from the shower head and it took forever to get the shampoo out of my hair. Perhaps a little less low flow would be good.

An interesting minor quibble was the service (or lack or service) in the dining room. The kitchen staff brought out food with zero interactions with guests, just plates replaced with mechanical efficiency. There were pitchers of water and tea on tables, we brought our own wine and so there wasn't a need for wait staff, but as a guest, it felt more like a mechanical process, more like dinner service on a low end cruise ship, than dinner/breakfast at a higher end resort. No one came by the tables, no one asked if we needed anything or if we enjoyed our meal. I'm sure that I'm wrong on this, but there was a little of a feeling that the staff was in a hurry to get us fed so they could clean up and leave. An odd note in an otherwise excellent experience.

Let me stress that it was an excellent experience overall. If I found myself back in the Hill Country, I would choose this inn again--although I would probably pack in a few midnight snacks.

Room Tip: This would be perfect for a romantic get-away. You can spend a lazy day at the inn or you can plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed @ IAOC for 4 days/3 nights. We choose the "Hayes Room"! The room is so nice, very comfortable bed (AC works greatttt), nice huge bathtub, very large double head shower that has a view out to the hill country. This B&B has such a friendly staff. The breakfast & dinner was amazing. Gourmet food that exceeded our expectations every time! My husband is a meat/cheese only guy, very picky. I was nervous each am/pm when the menu was up, I assumed he wouldn't want to try something out of his comfort zone. But he loved everything we ate. We also enjoyed a couples massage(my husbands first) it was awesome! Both the girls did a wonderful job! Can't wait to return to this B&B!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, TX
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My hubby and I stayed here for Valentine's day and man...WOW!!! The property is quiet and beautiful even in February when the wildflowers aren't out yet. We took a nature walk. We enjoyed chocolate covered strawberries in our room. We watched movies which we were able to check out from their library. Dinner was a really neat experience because you are seated with other couples at a large table and you get to know the other guests and it's neat to hear where everyone is from. The chef is awesome! Breakfast and dinner were fabulous! We cannot wait to go back! We loved using the fireplace!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our third trip to the Inn and we hadn't been there in several years. I am thrilled to report that it was even better than ever! The food, the property, the staff...totally top notch!! We were there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and really just needed to get away from the routine of life. This was the perfect place to do it.

We arrived on Friday and stayed in the Nance Suite - which is such a wonderful way to spoil yourself. It has beautiful views from all windows, a huge tub and shower, king bed, and a small private deck with chairs. It also has it's own small kitchenette and that was nice for storing wine, water, and snacks. Although, be sure to take advantage of the kitchen, which is open to guests 24-hours and has coffee, tea, water, soda/juice and the BEST lemon poppyseed cookies!

We had arranged a private dinner in the library and it was a lovely setting to enjoy a fabulous meal of salmon complete with one of the best chocolate cakes we have ever eaten. it was decorated for our anniversary with "Happy 25th" and the remainder of the small cake went back to our room with us for snacking. I would highly recommend doing the private dinner one night, as it just made our trip very special. But, we also enjoyed meeting the other guests the following days. The food, overall, was fabulous. So fresh and just lovely meals. The homemade sausage was the highlight of breakfast. Don't forget to take your own bottle of wine!

We walked the many trails each morning. Due to the drought, it is very "brown", but we still enjoyed being outside. And, I imagine it would be lovely in spring. Many guests were doing yoga on the porch and several commented on the great spa. The pool has a shaded end and is the perfect place to enjoy a drink and cool off.

Wimberly is just a short drive for great tourist shopping. And, several wineries are within driving distance. The Inn has a rack of brochures with maps.

Enjoy your time at the Inn. We'll be back next time we need to recharge the batteries.

Room Tip: We have picked a different room each time. It's fun to see how unique each of them are. Next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek

Address: 4444 W FM 150, Kyle, TX 78640 (Formerly The Inn Above Onion Creek)
Location: United States > Texas > Kyle
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 16-room luxury inn and spa on 88 acres with stunning views, relaxing porches and luxury accommodations. Located just 25 miles from Austin, TX, Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek was designed to be the ultimate Texas Hill Country escape for romantic getaways, Hill Country vacations or corporate retreats. Come and experience some of the best Hill Country views, award winning food and visit some of the great nearby locations like the Salt Lick, Duchman Winery and the nearby shopping in San Marcos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn Above Onion Creek Hotel Kyle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sage Hill Inn Above Onion Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.