We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ethridge Farm Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kountze
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ethridge Farm Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Ethridge Farm Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
103 South Williford Road, Kountze, TX 77625   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Kountze B&B and Inns
1 review
“Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Really nice place. The cabin was more rustic than I expected, but really came to like that about it. The only suggestions I would make, is in the blueberry cabin the furniture in living room is uncomfortable. Don't go with the expectation of laying around watching TV or playing on phone! Lol No cable & very little phone service. But turned out to be a really nice get away for our anniversary. And the breakfast is wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Stayed here one night during a cross country trip. Wish we could have stayed longer! We stayed in the newest cabin which was perfect - comfortable bed, chairs, kitchen, way more than we needed actually. The outdoor shower was very cool. The property is beautiful and the entire vibe is very relaxing. Ann was very nice, as was Jay and Biscuit. Great homemade breakfast with Texas sausage gravy and biscuits. Apparently Big Thicket Preserve is nearby but we didn't get a chance to explore it. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking to get away for a few days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southold, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

On an extended road trip we stayed in the Deer Run cabin on Ethridge Farm for a week while visiting the Big Thicket, birding at nearby Anahuac NWR and High Island, and experiencing the local culture. And as much as we enjoyed the area, and excellent restaurants such as Mama Jack's, it was Ethridge Farm itself that was truly special.

Run by the very capable Ann Ethridge with the able assistance of Jay the foreman, our stay was memorable. Ann is skilled in the culinary arts, her breakfasts were wonderful, and the dinner she prepared for us was superb. As for Jay, his fantastic sausage gravy and biscuits made us New Yorkers fans for life. We took home some cooking tips that we've enjoyed ever since. For anyone who desires to 'get away from it all' for a weekend or longer, we highly recommend the Ethridge Farm Bed and Breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Anne Ethridge, Jay and her crew hosted us at her wonderful B & B outside of Kountze, Texas. It was like traveling back in time, staying in 100-year old cabin set in a meadow on 35 acres of wooded paradise. We came to the Texas Gulf Coast for the annual spring bird migration along with many other birders. They stayed in big towns like Winnie. We called it right and stayed with Anne in a birders's paradise just minutes from the "Big Thicket" and an easy drive to several other birding locales. In fact, there were almost as many birds on Anne's property as there were in the Thicket! In addition, Anne hosted an Eastern Sunrise Service for 50 people and invited her guests to attend. A full breakfast was served afterward. Every breakfast served at the B & B was complete with eggs, biscuits and homemade gravy, fresh fruit, homemade jams and preserves, juice and fresh coffee. I look forward to another visit in the near future and highly recommend this destination to any traveler, but especially to bird and nature lovers!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We chose this B&B for our 15th anniversary, and it was an excellent choice. We stayed in the
beautiful rustic Cabin on Deer Run. It was very accommodating except the mattress was very hard. The berry and fruit orchards are beautiful, the large pond and landscaping is most
attractive, and is conveniently near Big Thicket National Preserve. Jay prepared breakfast the
first morning and Ann cooked for us the following morning. Great country meals. The owner, Ann
is a wonderful, friendly lady who will make you feel very welcome, I hope we can get back there
again some day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a wonderful property with cabins that are well separated from each other. We stayed in the Mayhaw cabin. It is the newest, but had much charm. It is surrounded by fruit trees and has a great trail that goes by two ponds. Great place to walk the dogs in the morning. It is close to Big Thicket National Preserve so there is lots of exploring to do in the area. Ann, the hostess is very friendly and she makes fabulous biscuits and gravy. We will be going back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed in the new Mayhaw Ridge cabin at Ethridge Farm for a weekend escape from Houston. The cabin had a lot of charm and Ann, the owner, was very kind and accommodating, working with me when we needed to change dates at the last mnute. We opted for dinner at the B&B, which was brisket with salad, roasted vegetables, twice-baked potatoes, fresh bread and a bread pudding dessert. Both that and breakfast the next morning were delicious--definitely a highlight.

The grounds we pretty and tranquil, and I'd love to be there when the orchard was fruiting--sounds like that happens late spring through summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ethridge Farm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethridge Farm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 103 South Williford Road, Kountze, TX 77625
Location: United States > Texas > Kountze
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kountze
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Ethridge Farm Bed And Breakfast Texas/Kountze, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ethridge Farm Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.