We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big House BBQ

Big House BBQ
1900 East King Avenue, Kingsville, TX
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 59 Restaurants in Kingsville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Waco, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We heard that the BBQ was fantastic but we were disappointed. It was pricey and not flavorful. I paid extra for BBQ sauce but what we got was more like a salsa. The building was nice and fancy next time I think we will try a place that's not so fancy but looks and smells a little smokey with the BBQ aroma!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dont go if you are in a hurry..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The service is sooooooo slow. Its not even that good. If it was better food I wouldn't mind waiting so long.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New Location: corner of expressway 77 and King. The former Gem's.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Great BBQ Poor Boy. Gotta try it. Could be a little more generous with the side serving of pinto beans but otherwise very good. Took the old Gem's restaurant and remodeled it. Very nice. Highly recommend passing up the fast food joints and stopping in for a great BBQ sandwich, hamburger, or steak.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quality Food at Competitive Prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I travel extensively for business and as a result am a frequent patron to restaurants on my journeys.
Always on the look out for good quality private establishments, I found one here!
Portions are good, texture and flavour of the food is what one would expect from a good indie restaurant. Frequented by locals (obviously due to the good food), the staff and patrons are friendly and the place has an overall good feel to it.
Recommended Big House BBQ to some contractors I was working with while on a project in the area and they came to me the next day telling me that it was good !!! Rare to have someone come back to you and say "that was a good find"
Since I ate there more than once their BBQ and braved their 'Drum Fish' (fish being something that I wouldn't necessarily consider ordering from a BBQ House) - both were good - their salads are very large.
If you are in town - this is one of the places to go for dinner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big House BBQ also viewed

Kingsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Kingsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Kingsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Kingsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Big House BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big House BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.