We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but slow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big House Burgers

Big House Burgers
609 East King Avenue, Kingsville, TX 78363
(361) 592-0222
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 59 Restaurants in Kingsville
Restaurant details
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“good but slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Good burgers and tater tots- I haven't had anything else here. Service was friendly. Getting food was slow, so be prepared to wait. Price was average.
Good sports bar.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and a Fun Place for the Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The burgers and other selections are very good and the atmosphere is fun. It can be very busy and noisy but that part of the fun. Lots of TVs to watch a variety of games. They have a full bar and a varied menu - so there is something for everyone. Only wish they would re-pave their parking lot! There are so many holes and at night it is easy to falling into them when you are walking from/to your car or to hit them with your car as you drive in or out of the parking lot.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talihina
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A lot of hoopla but I found this place average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Busy place to eat, noise level is about a 8. Food was ok. Not to expensive I would recommend as far as restaurants in Kingsvile.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Texas
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good barbecue, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I had dinner at Big House on October 18, 2011. I had never been there before. The place is a nice, rustic restaurant one block off Highway 77 on King Avenue with a small sports-bar area off to one side. My waitress, Nikki, was very attentive and professional. I started off with the potato soup, which was creamy and delicious. Then I had the 3-meat plate, consisting of one large slice of brisket, one sausage link, and 2 pork ribs. The brisket and sausage were good by Texas BBQ standards, though just a bit dry. The ribs? Well, one rib was dry and tasteless while the other rib was moist, bursting with flavor, and delicious! I can't figure out why the difference. Also served was one slice of white bread, a slice of wheat bread, and a bowl of homemade beans. All in all, it was a good meal at a fair price with excellent service. At some point, I will be back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Average Fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Sports Bar environment, popular place in town. Average size crowd. Friendly and competent, good place to sit, unwind and enjoy a meal. Better than fast food, but definately not upscale.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big House Burgers also viewed

Kingsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Kingsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Kingsville, Texas Gulf Coast
Kingsville, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Big House Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big House Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.