We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand central cafe

Grand central cafe
1010 King Ct, Kingsland, Kingsland, TX 78639
+1 325-388-6022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Kingsland
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Eat Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My wife and I have eaten here twice in the last week since finding the place. The restaurant is in an old historic well maintained building and consists of several smaller sized rooms with just the right amount of tables and guests. Food here is very tasty, portions are good, service good. Wine list is nice, desert list is nice and prices are great. We really like this place for the totality of the dining experience. I highly recommend it. Be advised, they are only open Thur-Sat for dinner but serve breakfast and lunch most days.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Such a Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My daughter and I had lunch at the Grand Central Cafe in Kingsland, Texas last Friday. It was just great! This is the reincarnation of the Junction Point Cafe at the Antlers Hotel. The food was excellent, (the onion rings are to die for,) and the menu is amazingly extensive! The best part of the experience was visiting with the wonderfully friendly staff. We talked of the history of the hotel and cafe, and by the time we left, we felt like family. You can bet we'll go back again and again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
“Great Location, Service & Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Dined twice, once for breakfast and once for lunch during recent stay at The Antlers Inn. Both meals were very good, including the omelettes, burgers and Club sandwiches. Excellent service and an interesting decor. Will return!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great menu, value and service. Finally a nice restaraunt for Lake LBJ!! We have been waiting for a great place and now it is here. Just been here for dinner but we saw the breakfast and lunch menu and we will be back. Thanks Rick and Drew!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“WoW!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

OMG! We have greatly anticipated the opening of GCC in the evening and we were not disappointed. The food and service was beyond compare for the hill country of Texas. We just returned from Napa Valley and did not experience food this good. The Whiskey Smoked Shrimp Dip was unbelievable for an appetizer and the Grand Central Steak Oscar melted in my mouth. My wife had the Espresso Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin and a taste of that took me to the finest BBQ house in the state except with a starched white table cloth, yellow rose and candlelight. For fine dining or just a plain good meal you can not go wrong. Please add the Grand Central Cafe to your to do list and it will become your go to place for Lake LBJ and beyond. Way to go Rick and Drew! (Natalie and Kevin are awesome too)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand central cafe also viewed

 

Been to Grand central cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand central cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.