We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Pleasant Weekend at the Antlers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Antlers

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kingsland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Antlers
1001 King St., Kingsland, TX 78639-5252   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kingsland
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Another Pleasant Weekend at the Antlers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We've stayed at the Antlers a number of times over the last several years. As always, a very nice and relaxing environment on the shores of Lake LBJ. We couldn't get a caboose but did get the River Train Cabin. A rustic cabin just a minutes walk from the lake. The cabin was nicely appointed and very comfortable. Very quiet too. Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Any of the cabooses offer a unique experience. The River Trail Cabin is also comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A real gem here. Staff was very friendly. Nice property to walk around and unwind. This was a stopover on a whim but if we are ever back in the area this is where we will stay. Fun to drive the ranch roads around the county.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I always thought that the Antlers was only a hotel with some converted rail cars and depot but upon further investigation, they have some very nice cottages and cabins on what is actually a very expansive property. It is perfect for family reunions or just a quiet weekend for 2. It has a restaurant (Grand Central Café) next to the hotel that serves daily breakfast and lunch and dinners on the weekend. They have a huge stretch of waterfront that affords full access to lake LBJ and its location makes day trips to numerous hill country wineries and attractions very practical. The beautiful grounds make for a very serene and relaxing setting. Be sure to keep your eyes peeled for family of foxes that inhabit the property. A great place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Antlers a couple of weeks ago. My sister found the Antlers Hotel on your site, when looking for a family get away in the Hill Country.

After looking at the hotel, it was the perfect spot for us. My family and other family members booked rooms and cabins at the resort.

We could not wait to stay in this historic and charming resort; we were all so excited.

We had the time of our lives!

Words can not describe the uniqueness and beauty of the Antlers.

This was the best get away ever.. so much to see and do.

We are still talking about our stay and how impeccable every inch of the property was. Words can not describe the detail and uniqueness of every room in the hotel, depot, cabooses, cabins and restaurant.

The staff was inviting, friendly, and informative and able to accommodate and put up with some very demanding guest from my husbands side of the family. Their hospitality was a added bonus to our stay.

We noticed the property was for sale, we all hope if it is sold; the new owner will maintain the history and beauty of the Antlers. We plan to make the Antlers our annual family gathering. I plan to be back until me and my granddaughters stay in every cabin/caboose on this beautiful resort on the water.

Kathleen Fair Houston, Texas

Room Tip: No fitness center or swimming pool four docks on the lake ~ great swimming and fishing. Pool table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place is perfect. It has something for everyone. If you have a large family there is a place for you. If it is a couples retreat there is a place. And if you just want to be alone to hide-away there is a place for you! The landscaping is incredible! It is very quiet and there is a great place to swim off the dock and the water near the bank is shallow enough to let your children swim and splash around without too much worry! We stayed in a very nice/clean cabin. My granddaughter called our bedroom the princess room! The restaurant is also reasonably priced. Writing this makes me excited about our next trip!! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful location and nice, clean rooms but when the A/C unit died the owners had no intention to fix it. With 105 temperatures outside it was unbearable. All makeup products and chocolate sitting in our room melted. No alterative rooms or a refund offered.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepers212, Manager at The Antlers, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We wanted to Thank You for choosing the Antlers for your stay in Kingsland. Although we try our best to make each and every stay with us as comfortable as possible, at times things do happen.
The cabin you were staying in has two AC units and sadly, one of them decided to quit late at night. We are located in a rural area, so getting someone out to do repairs that late at night is almost impossible. We do apologize for any inconvenience that might have caused you. We were fully booked that weekend so had nowhere else to move some of your guests. Luckily, the second AC unit was working so some of your group could still stay in the cabin and a couple moved over to another cabin that family members were staying in. We did offer a gift certificate for a free night's stay and are happy that your group decided to book with us again for a future date! Thank you again for giving the Antlers another try,, we will try our best to make it a wonderful time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Hubby and I spent the weekend in the red caboose - it was SO CUTE and CHARMING! We loved climbing up into the cupola and looking out over the grounds. Comfortable décor in keeping with the railroad theme, FULLY equipped kitchen with everything you could need, tv, phone, bathroom was tiny (of course, being in a caboose) but sufficient. Everything was very, very clean. Daily maid service. Gas grill and picnic table outside each caboose (and cabin too, I think) we grilled steaks for dinner one night. The main hotel and the rest of the property seem nice, didn't really explore them too much. We had Sunday morning breakfast in the TX Chainsaw house. The menu offered plenty of variety and was fairly tasty (you might want to pass on the breakfast potatoes, just bland fried chunks of potato.) A little pricy, but worth it to me, and it's so clever and cute how all the menu items have a railroad-themed name. If you're into trains, definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Antlers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Antlers

Address: 1001 King St., Kingsland, TX 78639-5252
Location: United States > Texas > Kingsland
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kingsland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
The Antlers Hotel Kingsland
Antlers Hotel Kingsland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Antlers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Antlers to your Saves list